Home » Tag Archives: general election (page 3)

Tag Archives: general election

Dooley elected on the seventh count

Finally the first candidate has been elected as Timmy Dooley exceeded the quota on the seventh count. The results of the count were, Dooley (FF) +1,378   12,150 Harty (Ind) +328  10,688 Breen (FG) +92 7,512 Carey (FG) + 138  7,032 McDonagh (FF) +441  5,497 Moran (SF) +101  5058 Norton (Ind) +170  3,152   Timmy Dooley exceeded the quota by 749. That amount of votes are being distributed as his supporters celebrate. Only one vote separates the two Michaels, McDonagh and McNamara. Neither of them look like winning a seat though.

Read More »

Sixth count results

  The results of the sixth count, which consisted of the distribution of Fergal Smith’s votes, were, Breen (FG)  +83  7,420 Carey (FG) +116  6,894 Colleran Molloy (FF) +56  2,880 Dooley (FF) +148  10,772 Harty (Ind) +520 10,360 McDonagh (FF) +59 5,056 McNamara (Lab) +549  5,347 Moran (SF) +293  4,957 Norton (Ind) +296 2982 As a result Clare Colleran Molloy is eliminated. Michael McNamara has now overtaken Michael McDonagh for the first time and is 289 votes ahead of him. Timmy Dooley is likely to be the main beneficiary from Clare Colleran Molloy’s exit and may be elected on the next count.

Read More »

Fourth count results

  The results of the fourth count were; Breen (FG) +217   6,857 Carey (FG) +47 6,195 Colleran Molloy (FF) +19   2,716 Dooley (FF) +98 10,480 Harty (Ind) +627  9,605 Howard (FG) +21 2,119 McDonagh (FF) +190 4,954 McNamara (Lab) +25  4,672 Moran (SF) +92 4,611 Norton (Ind) +79   2,521 Smith (Green) +52  2,144 There were 48 non transferrable votes. The lowest candidate, Mary Howard, has now been eliminated.

Read More »

Results of the third count

The results of the third count are in; Breen (FG) + 19  6,640 Carey (FG) +33  6,148 Colleran Molloy (FF) +24 2,697 Dooley (FF) +90 10,382 Harty (Ind) +166 8,978 Howard (FG) +22 2,098 Lynch (Ind) +40 1,575 McDonagh (FF) +15  4,764 McNamara (Lab) +71  4,587 Moran (SF) +242  4,519 Norton (Ind) +121  2,442 Smith (Green) +328  2,092 Non transferrable votes 45. The lowest candidate, Ian Lynch has now been eliminated.

Read More »

‘Champion poll reveals main trends

The recent Clare Champion 2016 General Election opinion poll has generally been borne out on polling day. Apart from some changes in the parties’ actual vote, the ‘Champion poll, which was taken two weeks previously, identified some of the key trends, which transpired on February 26. It revealed the emergence of Dr Michael Harty as a very strong candidate, who looks set to take the second seat in the Banner County. In addition to predicting a seat for outgoing Fianna Fáil Deputy Timmy Dooley and Pat Breen, Fine Gael, it indicated that Sinn Féin candidate, Noeleen Moran would be in contention for the last seat with Labour’s Michael McNamara and Fine Gael Deputy, Joe Carey. Some interesting findings have emerged when comparing the poll with the tally results. According to the tally,  Fianna Fáil is on 31.11% Fine Gael 25.98% Labour 7.8% Sinn Féin 7.18% Independents 23% Fís Nua 1.98% Green 2.95%. The poll  found Fianna Fáil was on 27.91, …

Read More »

Dooley says no to Fine Gael coalition

OUTGOING Clare Fianna Fáil TD Timmy Dooley arrived at the county centre in Ennistymon shortly before 5pm on Saturday. Deputy Dooley is expected to top the poll and hold onto his seat according to the tallies. As regards forming a coalition government, Deputy Dooley is adamant that Fianna Fáil will keep their pre-election promises and not enter into a partnership with Fine Gael. “That has been thrown around for the last few weeks. There has been an awful lot of targeting of the two parties to resolve the government issue. There are going to be 158 people elected between here and Monday or Tuesday. There is a responsibility on everyone that gets elected to play a role in deciding who administers the state after this. In my view it should be down to policy platforms. We ran a campaign offering a change to the Irish people with a platform around investment in services and a platform that looked at spreading …

Read More »

All constituency boxes open with Dooley and Harty leading the race

ALL 147 ballot boxes in the Clare constituency for General Election 2016 have been opened at the Fall’s Hotel, Ennistymon. By early afternoon after all the boxes were opened tally figures show a strong lead for Fianna Fáil’s Timmy Dooley with 10,059 votes. First time candidate Independent Dr Michael Harty is coming in strong on 8,454, Fine Gael TD Pat Breen 6576, Fine Gael TD Joe Carey on 5,940, Fianna Fáil’s Michael ‘Malty’ McDonagh is on 4,750, Labour TD Michael McNamara 4,394, Sinn Féin’s Noeleen Moran 4,095, Fianna Fáil’s Clare Colleran Molloy 2,729. Independent Ann Norton 2,202, Fine Gael’s Mary Howard, 2058, Independent Ian Lynch, 1465, Green Party’s Fergal Smith, 1666, Fís Nua’s Niamh O’Brien, 1113 and both Independent Dermot Mulqueen and Independent André Sibo Hakizimana on 63 votes. Jessica Quinn

Read More »

O’Brien says “huge resources” winning out at expense of Independent candidates

Fis Nua candidate Niamh O’Brien says she is not surprised by the Clare vote which has seen her struggle to compete for a seat as the results come in. She believes Independent candidates are at a big disadvantage when it comes to competing with the major campaigns and resources that the big traditional parties can rely on. “It’s a  strange one. I would have thought after all the talk about Independents over the last couple of weeks that we’d see a bit more of Independents but it seems that Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are still very very  strong,” she said. “It’s not a surprise. I suppose when you have huge resources behind you it’s easy to get the message out there to people. We’ll soldier on anyway. I have a big voice in me and I won’t sit down and shut up so I’ll be heard anyway at some stage.” Trevor Quinn

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!