Car Tourismo Banner
Home » Sports » Fitzgerald confirmed as new Wexford boss
Wexford manager Liam Dunne and former Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald following their All-Ireland qualifier replay at Wexford Park in 2014. Photograph by John Kelly.
Davy Fitzgerald has been confirmed as the new Wexford manager in succession to Liam Dunne. Photograph by John Kelly.

Fitzgerald confirmed as new Wexford boss

Former Clare hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald was ratified as the new Wexford manager at a special meeting of the county board in Enniscorthy on this Friday

Manager of Clare from 2012 until last month, the Sixmilebridge man still had a year to run in his second term in Clare when he stepped down a few weeks ago after a players meeting had expressed a view that change was needed.

Fitzgerald had discussions with officers of the Wexford County Board and faced an interview panel in Portlaoise earlier this week. Amongst those understood to have been considered for the Wexford post is Tipperary native Eamonn Kelly who, ironically, has been part of the backroom team with Fitzgerald’s home club in Sixmilebridge for the past two years. Kelly managed Offaly senior hurlers in 2016.

It is understood that Fitzgerald has been appointed for three years with a review to take place after two years. It’s expected that J.J. Doyle who has managed the Slaneysiders under 21 team for the past few years will be part of Fitzgerald’s management team

There is much speculation that Donal Og Cusack, All-Ireland winning goalkeeper with Cork, could also be part of the management team but equally there is speculation that he may be part of the management team being assembled by Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor who are seeking the Clare manager’s job left vacant by Fitzgerald’s departure

Fitzgerald will be replacing Liam Dunne, the 1996 All-Ireland winner, who held the position for five years.

All star nominees

Three Clare hurlers are amongst the forty five nominees from which this year’s All-star team will be chosen. Cian Dillon is nominated for a position in defence while Colm Galvin and Tony Kelly are amongst the eighteen from which the six forwards will be chosen.

Tipperary have received fifteen nominations with all members of their starting All-Ireland final team named.

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Clare hoping to keep the Faith-ful

Allianz Football League Division 3 Round 3 Offaly v Clare at Glenisk O’Connor Park Tullamore, …