Home » Tag Archives: All-Stars

Tag Archives: All-Stars

All stars for Conlon and O’Donnell

JOHN Conlon and Shane O’Donnell have been named on the PWC Hurling All Star team for 2023. It is the second All Star for both, with Conlon winning one in 2018 and O’Donnell in 2022. Limerick dominate the selection with seven of their All Ireland winning team taking All Stars, with beaten finalists Kilkenny picking up five and one going to Galway’s Conor Whelan. Conlon was named at centre back and the Clonlara man enters a distinguished club of players who have been honoured as forwards and defenders in their career after he was named full forward in 2018. Famously he had to leave his brother’s wedding in April to face Limerick, and with victory and the man of the match award secured, he returned for the evening celebrations. The All Star caps a great year for Conlon which also saw him pick up his second county senior championship. O’Donnell was in sparkling form for much of the summer with …

Read More »
Wexford manager Liam Dunne and former Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald following their All-Ireland qualifier replay at Wexford Park in 2014. Photograph by John Kelly.

Fitzgerald confirmed as new Wexford boss

Former Clare hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald was ratified as the new Wexford manager at a special meeting of the county board in Enniscorthy on this Friday Manager of Clare from 2012 until last month, the Sixmilebridge man still had a year to run in his second term in Clare when he stepped down a few weeks ago after a players meeting had expressed a view that change was needed. Fitzgerald had discussions with officers of the Wexford County Board and faced an interview panel in Portlaoise earlier this week. Amongst those understood to have been considered for the Wexford post is Tipperary native Eamonn Kelly who, ironically, has been part of the backroom team with Fitzgerald’s home club in Sixmilebridge for the past two years. Kelly managed Offaly senior hurlers in 2016. It is understood that Fitzgerald has been appointed for three years with a review to take place after two years. It’s expected that J.J. Doyle who has managed the …

Read More »

Banner’s eight stars

THE selection of eight members of Clare’s All-Ireland winning hurling side on the 2013 All-Stars team has rounded off a memorable year for the Banner County David McInerney, Brendan Bugler, Pat Donnellan, Colm Galvin, Conor Ryan, Tony Kelly, Podge Collins and Conor McGrath have been named on the team, which is completed by three players each from Cork and Dublin and one from the Munster champions, Limerick. The awards will be presented at a function in Croke Park this Friday night, when the identity of both the senior and young hurler of the year will also be revealed. The young player award is certainly in the bag for Clare, as the only nominees are Tony Kelly, Podge Collins and David McInerney.  Kelly and Collins are also in the running for the senior award, along with Cork goalie Anthony Nash. The players make the choice of player of the year. The number of Clare men named in this year’s team equals …

Read More »