Home » Sports » Thirty teams compete for U-21 hurling titles
Kilmaley's Michael O'Malley played a key role in Clare's win over Cork at Cusack park

Thirty teams compete for U-21 hurling titles

A total of thirty teams will compete for the under 21 A, B and C hurling titles in 2016, the draws for which were earlier this evening at Clareabbey.

Kilmaley, holders of the A title will take on the corofin-Ruan combination in the opening round with the winners going on to play Tulla in a quarter final tie. In all there will be ten teams competing for the A title, twelve in the race for the B title while eight clubs will battle it our for the C crown. Ballyea, Kilmaley, Clarecastle and St. Josephs will each have two teams with their ‘second string’ sides competing for the C title.

The pairings are;

U-21 A: Preliminary Round:

A Kilmaley v Corofin-Ruan; B Wolfe Tones v Inagh-Kilnamona;

Quarter finals: 1 Sixmilebridge v Eire Og 2 Clonlara v Wolfe Tones or Inagh-Kilnamona 3 Tulla v Kilmaley or Corofin/Ruan: 4 Feakle-Killanena v Clarecastle;

Semi-finals: 2 v 1 and 4 v 3

U-21 B:

Byes to A- Clooney-Quin, B- Newmarket C- Cratloe and D- Ballyea

Round 1; E-O’C.Mills v Crusheen-Tubber: F-Broadford v Bodyke: G-Smith O’Briens v Scariff-Ogonnelloe: H- Parteen-Meelick v St. Josephs

Quarter finals; 1-C v B; 2-D v A; 3-E v F: 4-G v H;

Semi-finals; 4 v 3 and 1 v 2;

U 21 C

Quarter finals; A- Whitegate v Clarecastle; B-Scariff v Ballyea; C-Kilmaley v Banner; D-St. Josephs v Ennistymon;

Semi-finals; C v B and A v D

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Historic back-to-back finals the juciest of carrots for Clare

All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final Kilkenny v Clare at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles, Sunday 1pm …