Ennistymon Credit Union
Home » Sports » New look Clare to face Limerick

New look Clare to face Limerick

By Seamus Hayes

Just two of the team which started in last September’s All-Ireland senior hurling final replay have been named in the Clare team to face Limerick in the opening round of the Waterford Crystal senior hurling tournament at O’Garney park in Sixmilebridge this Sunday.

The left flank of the defence, made up of Cian Dillon (Crusheen) and Pat O’Connor (Tubber) remains in place for the meeting of the Shannonside rivals as Clare set out in defence of this title.

Alan O’Neill and Cathal O’Connell from the All-Ireland winning under 21 team are named. O’Connell will lead the attack while O’Neill, centre back in the under 21 team, is named at wing forward.

After an impressive year at full forward with his club O’Callaghans Mills, Conor Cooney will wear the number 14 jersey.

The captains of the last two Clare minor A winning championship teams, Conor Cleary who led Kilmaley to the title in 2013 and Clarecastle skipper in 2013, Bobby Duggan, are included in a side which includes Donal Tuohy in goal and Nicky O’Connell at wing forward both of whom have been part of the panel in recent years.

The team is; Donal Tuohy (Crusheen); Killian Ryan (Ruan) CillianmDuggan (Clooney-Quin), Cian Dillon (Crusheeh); Conor Cleary (Miltown), Pat Kelly (Clarecastle0 Pat O’Connor (Tubber); Liam Markham (Cratloe) Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge); Nicky O’Connell (Clonlara), Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara), Alan O’Neill (St. Josephs); Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle) Conor Cooney (O’C. Mills) David Reidy (Eire Og)

The game will get underway at 2p.m.

Check Also

Clare camogie puts best foot forward – one million times!

BRÍD MacNamara and Clare Camogie’s officers clocked up one million steps between them during the …