Home » Sports » Four quarter final places filled in senior hurling title race
Conor McGrath is named at corner forward to face Waterford

Four quarter final places filled in senior hurling title race

Four quarter final places in this year’s Clare senior hurling championship have been filled following round 2 in the race for the Canon Hamilton trophy.

Sixmilebridge, Clonlara, Ballyea and Clooney-Quin booked their places in the last eight with wins over Crusheen, O’Callaghans Mills, Kilmaley and Newmarket respectively. The latter four are still in the race and they will compete with Cratloe, Inagh-Kilnamona, Tulla and Eire Og for the remaining quarter final places.

Out of the race after two defeats each are Tubber, Whitegate, Feakle and Clarecastle and they now will play off to determine which one will drop down to intermediate grade for next season.

Veteran Niall Gilligan scored ten points as the Bridge defeated Crusheen 0-17 to 1-12. This was a well contested tie between two evenly matched sides at Clarecastle on Saturday evening.

In the opening game at Clarecastle Danny Russell scored a dozen points in Eire Og’s four point win over Tubber (0-16 to 1-9).

Clarecastle was also the venue for another twelve point tally which came from Tony Kelly as he inspired Ballyea to a merited 0-21 to 1-14 win over Kilmaley.

Peter Duggan was the Clooney-Quin hero as they shocked a fancied Newmarket team at Shannon. The Clare panellist scored 1-9 with the goal coming from a long range free in the final minute of normal time.

Clonlara put in a strong performance when recording a nine point over O’Callaghans Mills. In the East Clare derby clash of neighbours Feakle and Tulla, the latter’s experience proved key to a two point victory (1-12 to 0-13).

Conor McGrath helped himself to 0-11 as champions Cratloe got back into contention with a 1-23 to 1-16 win over Whitegate who were without the injured Brendan Bugler for this one.

In the last of the second round games Inagh-Kilnamona accounted for Clarecastle on a 3-18 to 0-21 scoreline

Meanwhile, in the intermediate championship, Wolfe Tones, Parteen, Smith O’Briens and Broadford have secured quarter final places.Out of the title race and now facing a play off to avoid dropping down to junior A are Crusheen, Ogonnelloe, Killanena and Cratloe

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Bord na nÓg Peil Reverse Decision To Drop Clare Minor Club Championship Age Eligibility To U-17

The Clare minor football championship will be run as an U-18 competition for 2020. It …