Home » Sports » Clare pick up points at home to Wicklow

Clare pick up points at home to Wicklow

Clare 2-13 Wicklow 1-8

THE Clare footballers maintained their drive for promotion from division 4, with an eight point win over Wicklow in Cusack Park on Sunday. Clare are now top of the division with three games left to play.

Both teams were unbeaten before the game, with Wicklow having won both of their games prior to this tie, while Clare had beaten Waterford and London, while they drew with Leitrim.

The biggest talking point to emerge from this game came in just the sixth minute when Wicklow captain Leighton Glynn was red carded following an incident with Martin McMahon. Wicklow were incensed at referee Seán Joy’s red card and while Clare didn’t immediately capitalise, they assumed control the longer the game wore on.

With David Tubridy excelling in attack and Gary Brennan netting a first half goal for Clare, they led 1-4 to 0-6 at half time, having played into the breeze.

Clare restricted Wicklow to 1-2 in the second half, while the home county tagged on 1-8 to their total, the goal coming from Shane Brennan flick after a Shane Hickey delivery.

However while the scoreline looks emphatic, Wicklow had a number of goal chances, particularly in the opening half. Had they taken those opportunities it would have been a much tighter game.

Clare’s next game is away to Tipperary in Thurles next Sunday at 12.45pm. The senior hurlers also play Tipperary on Sunday at the same venue.

Clare: Pierce Deloughrey (Cratloe); Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Gordon Kelly (Miltown), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg); Gary Brennan (Clondegad – captain), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen); Seán Collins (Cratloe), Shane Brennan (Clondegad), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis); Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Podge Collins (Cratloe).

Subs: Stephen Collins (Doora-Barefield) for Kevin Hartnett (42-inj), Alan Clohessy (Liscannor) for Seán Collins (54), Podge McMahon (Clondegad) for Martin O’Leary, Darren Hickey for Cathal O’Connor (60), Rory Donnelly (Cooraclare) for David Tubridy (60), David Ryan (Kilmihil) for Podge Collins (65).

Scorers: David Tubridy (0-7, 0-3f), Shane Brennan (1-1), Gary Brennan (1-0), Shane McGrath (0-2), Podge McMahon (0-2, 0-1f), Seán Collins (0-1).

Wicklow: Robert Lambert; Ciaran Hyland, Damian Power, Alan Byrne; Kevin Murphy, Jamie Snell, Dean Healy; Niall Gaffney, Anthony McLoughlin; Darren Hayden, Patrick McWalter, Rory Finn; Seanie Furlong, Conor McGraynor, Leighton Glynn (captain).

Subs: James Stafford for Jamie Snell (36), Paddy Dalton for Conor McGraynor (42), Christopher Murphy for Patrick McWalter, Paul McLoughlin for Damian Power (56-black card), James Sheerin for Niall Gaffney (64).

Scorers: Seanie Furlong (0-3, 0-2f), James Stafford (1-0), Conor McGraynor (0-2f), Rory Finn, Patrick McWalter, Niall Gaffney (0-1 each).

Referee: Seán Joy (Kerry).

About Peter O'Connell

West Clare native Peter O'Connell has worked for The Clare Champion for 12 years and covers everything from sport, especially GAA, news, features and has been even known to branch into the fashion scene on occasion.

Check Also

“The Response Since We Opened The Doors Again Has Been Incredible”

Derrick Lynch As the country moved into the latest phase of reopening this week, the …