Home » Sports » Minors out of All-Ireland race

Minors out of All-Ireland race

Limerick   4-14    Clare    1-4
CLARE bowed out of the Minor All-Ireland Championship on Saturday, losing out to neighbours Limerick.

Pushing hard for a win in the hope of making a play-off, depending on the result of the Cork v Galway clash, Limerick were on the attack from the throw-in and in a move similar to that executed by Clare in the side’s recent encounter in the Munster Minor Shield, Claire Keating rattled the Clare net in the opening minutes.

Limerick’s Caoimhe Costelloe added a point, before Fiona Murphy pointed for Clare. Kate O’Gorman converted a free for the Clare side in the 18th minute to leave Limerick ahead by two. However, Costelloe added another goal and a point to extend the home side’s lead.

Clare’s Niki Kaiser was the quickest to the breaking ball following a save by the Limerick goalie Orla Condon in the 26th minute and her strike raised a green flag for Clare. The sides traded points in the closing minutes, O’Gorman for Clare and Costelloe for Limerick, to leave the home side ahead 2-3 to 1-4 at the break.

The loss of both Kaiser and Aoife Keane through injury for the second half hampered Clare’s chances to both curtail the Limerick attack and grab the scores they needed to remain in contention in this game. Keating and Martina McMahon both goaled, with Costelloe contributing a further six points, four from placed balls.

Clare failed to register a score in the second half as they saw opportunities go astray, leaving the home side to run out 4-14 to 1-4 winners.

Limerick: Orla Condon; Miren O’Grady, Sinéad McNamara, Shannyn Sheehan; Jane Wilson, Rebecca Delee (captain), Donna Mulcahy; Karen O’Leary, Deborah Murphy; Aoife Wilson (0-1), Martina McMahon (1-1), Meadhbh O’Neill (0-1); Katie Hennessey, Claire Keating (2-2), Caoimhe Costelloe (1-9, 6f).
Subs: Niamh Doyle for Sheehan, Bríd Murphy for O’Grady, Lisa Ryan for Mulqueen, Aoife Barry for Condon and Denise Forde for Wilson (all 52 mins).
Clare: Emer Murray (Sixmilebridge); Aislinn Keogh (Newmarket-on-Fergus), Ellen Roche (Sixmilebridge), Claire McMahon (Éire Óg); Eimear Casey (St Joseph’s), Sinéad Quinn (Inagh-Kilnamona, 0-1f), Ria Flanagan (Ballyea); Aoife Keane (Inagh Kilnamona), Orlaith Lynch (St Joseph’s); Fiona Murphy (Sixmilebridge, 0-1), Orla Devitt (Éire Óg), Rebecca Devine (St Joseph’s); Niki Kaiser (Newmarket-on-Fergus, capt, 1-0), Kate O’Gorman (Kilkishen, 0-2), Lisa Donoghue (Whitegate).
Subs: Aoibheann Malone (Corofin) for Keane, Leighanne McMahon (Kilmaley) for Kaiser, Lauren McGuane (Kilmaley) for Keogh, Rebecca Crowe (Ruan) for Donoghue and Lauren Guilfoyle (Feakle) for Devine.
Referee: Donal Leahy, Tipperary.

About News Editor


Check Also

Poulter Confirmed As Part Of 2019 Irish Open Field

Another big name has been added to the line-up for the 2019 Irish Open as …

error: Content is protected !!