Home » Sports » Wolfe Tones reach minor C final

Wolfe Tones reach minor C final

Wolfe Tones 5-7   Tulla-Bodyke 2-1

Wolfe Tones qualified for the minor C final on Wednesday evening with a comprehensive 5-7 to 2-1 win over a brave Tulla-Bodyke side. Wolfe Tones got off to a flying start with a third-minute goal from Sinéad Kelly. Kelly followed up with a point before Zoe McInerney pointed from a free. Kelly goaled again in the eighth minute after Hayley Nolan picked her out on the wing.

Tulla-Bodyke’s Katie McInerney opened her side’s tally in the 11th minute with a point from play. McInerney added another point for the home side in the 14th minute. Tulla-Bodyke came more into the game in the second quarter but up against a solid Wolfe Tones defence, were finding it difficult to convert scoring chances.

When Sorcha Costelloe dropped a 45’ in around the square for Tulla-Bodyke, Aisling McNamara managed in the scramble to flick on to the net. Both sides goaled in injury time, Katie McInerney for Tulla-Bodyke in the 31st minute and Kelly with her third to leave the half-time score at 3-3 to 2-1. Wolfe Tones restarted with two goals inside the opening five minutes and were well on their way to victory. Hayley Nolan had the final two scores of the game for Tones to see them secure a place in the final.

Wolfe Tones:
Susan Williams; Edel Reidy, Emily Downes, Chloe O’Donoghue; Dawn Ryan, Megan O’Sullivan, Claire O’Brien, Hayley Nolan, Zoe McInerney, Sinéad Kelly, Toni O’Brien, Paige Lucas, Rachel Kirwan.
Subs: Elaine Lee for Rachel Kirwan, Rachel O’Toole for Paige Lucas and Lorraine Tubridy for Toni O’Brien.
Tulla-Bodyke: Sarah Leyden; Aoibhinn Byrnes, Amy McNamara, Sinéad McMahon, Lorna Power, Lisa Meehan, Sorcha Costelloe, Aisling McNamara, Katrina McNamara, Chantelle O’Halloran, Aisling Hunt, Katie McInerney, Lydia Sheedy.
Subs: Aoife Leamy for Aisling McNamara, Áine O’Callaghan for Lydia Sheedy, Jane Meehan for Katrina McNamara and Leah Fox for Sorcha Costelloe.
Referee: AnneMarie McGann, St Joseph’s.

Truagh-Clonlara 2-4   Scariff Ogonnelloe 1-5

This was the second meeting of these two teams in championship and was a much different match then the first encounter. Scariff/Ogonnelloe were ahead at half-time by a point but with a strong wind in the second half in Truagh’s favour they pulled ahead with two goals and while Scariff/Ogonnelloe battled hard and put some good points on board, it still left a two-point gap when the final whistle sounded.

Ballyea 5-12   Sixmilebridge 0-3

Ballyea took another step closer to being in a minor A final with a convincing win over Sixmilebridge last Wednesday. The accuracy of both point and goal-scoring gave Ballyea the edge they needed to get over last year’s minor finalists.

Corofin 6-10   Kilkishen 0-3

Corofin ran out easy winners in this Round 5 Minor B Championship tie in Kilkishen on Wednesday evening. Despite very bad conditions due to the heavy rainfall before the game, Corofin’s players showed some great skill and determination.

At half-time, they were 3-4 to 0-2 ahead and things didn’t change for the Kilkishen team in the second half, despite having the breeze on their side.

With Kilkishen only scoring one point and Corofin adding 3-6 to their first-half tally, they ran out easy winners.

Corofin: Niamh Lyons; Sinéad Collins, Claire McDonnell, Róisín Malone; Ailish Hanrahan, Aoife Forde, Emily Mulqueen; Rebecca Crowe, Eva O’Dea; Lauren O’Donoghue (1-2), Alice Casey (1-4), Aoibheann Malone (1-3); Eimear Neilan (1-0), Amy O’Brien (1-2), Rebecca Collins (1-0).


About News Editor


Check Also

Coughlan Laments Lost Opportunity For Open Draw All-Ireland Minor Football Series

Derrick Lynch The manager of the Clare minor footballers feels an opportunity was missed by …