Home » Sports » Wolfe Tones come from behind for well-earned victory

Wolfe Tones come from behind for well-earned victory

Wolfe Tones  3-5   St Joseph’s  0-12
Goals win games, they say, and so it proved at Gurteen on Saturday when the Shannon men hit the net three times on their way to a two-point win over the home side.

Mark Hallinan of St Joseph's under pressure. Photograph by Declan MonaghanThe goals came from their full-forward trio, with Kevin Cahill, Darren Ryan and Jamie Roughan each finding the net.
Things looked to be going the home side’s way when they led by a point inside the final quarter. Tempers flared a little and both sides had a player sent off and when play resumed, the Shannon men took control and quickly landed three points.
Dismissed were St Joseph’s goalkeeper Ger Dullaghan and Wolfe Tones’ Declan O’Rourke.
Helped by some excellent points by Colm Mullen from frees, the home side jumped into an early lead but they were unable to hold on to this and defensive problems proved costly.
Wolfe Tones: Trevor O’Donnell; Alan Downes, Seán Brennan, Chris Dunning; Daniel Gallery, Stephen McInerney, Michael O’Connell; Johnnie Bridges, Gary Whelan; Declan O’Rourke, Gary Leahy, Barry Murphy; Kevin Cahill, Darren Ryan, Jamie Roughan.
Sub: Alan Hehir
St Joseph’s: Ger Dullaghan; Niall White, Declan O’Halloran, John Heavey; Gavin O’Sullivan, Kevin Dilleen, Eanna O’Braonain; Mark Hallinan, Ivor White; Paul Dullaghan, Colm Mullen, Damian Kennedy; Enda Lyons, Cathal O’Sullivan, Eoin Kane.
Subs: Mark Raftery for Mullen; PG O’Donnell for Heavey.


Ennistymon  0-10   Cratloe  1-5
With five of their six forwards getting on the scoresheet, Ennistymon got their Garry Cup campaign off to a winning start when they accounted for Cratloe at Ennistymon on Saturday.
Both sides were short some regulars, with Cratloe lining out without Seán Collins, Ogie Murphy and Michael Hawes, who were on duty with the county hurlers the next day, along with another of their stars in last year’s intermediate campaign, Cathal McInerney, who was involved in the Harty Cup final on Sunday.
Despite the loss of these influential players, they still managed to make matters difficult for the home side and the outcome was very much in doubt right up to the final whistle.
The teams were level at 0-5 each at half time before the home side edged ahead in the second half. A Liam Markham goal kept Cratloe’s hopes alive but it wasn’t enough to prevent Ennistymon from a merited win on a day when Robert McDonagh and Danny Rouine each scored three points, with Rouine’s efforts coming from frees. Michael McDonagh (2), Joe Dowling and David Murphy also scored for the winners.
Ennistymon: Noel Sexton; James Murphy, Michael O’Loughlin, Michael Devitt; Wayne Griffin, David McInerney, Brian Sexton; Laurence Healy, Michael Nestor; Joe Dowling, David Murphy, Willie Murphy; Michael McDonagh, Robert McDonagh, Danny Rouine.
Subs: John McInerney, Ronan Linnane, Oisín Vaughan.
Cratloe: Jamie Joyce; John O’Gorman, Barry Duggan, Barry Gleeson; Seán Chaplin, Liam Markham, Wes De Loughrey; Kevin Browne, Conor Ryan;  Dean De Loughrey, Brian Phelan, Seán Hynan; Conor McGrath, Pádraig Chaplin, Joseph O’Connor.
Subs: Patrick O’Gorman, Brian McMillan,  Paudge Collins, Joseph O’Connor.

Kilrush  1-14   St Breckan’s  1-9
A first-half goal from Jim Young helped Kilrush to pick up both points in their opening Garry Cup game in Kilrush last Sunday. Before the game started, a minute’s silence was held to commemorate the memory of the late Owen Meaney, who was buried at the weekend.
The North Clare side missed a first-half penalty however, while John Hayes and Matthew Moloney played some good football for Kilrush at midfield and centre-back respectively.
Kilrush: Tony Burke; Cathal Lyons, Donal O’ Sullivan, Chris Dixon; Con O’Brien, Matthew Moloney, David O’Shea; John Hayes, Paddy Clancy; Stephen Sweeney, Seán Burke, Eoin Fitzgerald; Peadar McMahon, Jim Young, Rory O’Connor.
Subs: John Moody for David O’Shea; Seán Naughton for Stephen Sweeney; Seamus Bolton for Seán Burke; Matthew O’Brien for Cathal Lyons.
St Breckan’s: Colm Haugh; Seán Cormican, Seán O’ Dohmnall, Seán Creedon; Stephen Tierney, Daniel Carey, Noel McDonagh; Darragh Considine, Mikey Keating; Adrian Linnane, Conor Cormican, Denis O’Driscoll; Conor Cormican, Cormac Hehir, Graham O’Neill.
Subs: John Stack, John Paul Keating, John Carey, Anthony Geraghty.

About News Editor


Check Also

Coughlan Laments Lost Opportunity For Open Draw All-Ireland Minor Football Series

Derrick Lynch The manager of the Clare minor footballers feels an opportunity was missed by …