Home » Tag Archives: under 20

Tag Archives: under 20

HURLING: Limerick send Clare crashing from U-20 championship

Munster U-20 Hurling Championship Semi-Final Limerick 1-27 Clare 0-17 THERE was no doubting the result in the Gaelic Grounds on Monday night as Clare tried as much as they were allowed against a Limerick side who were stronger and more dominant possessing the key players in the right positions and this sealed a place in the Munster final, reports Michael O’Connor. Two replacements on the Clare side from the opening round win over Kerry saw William Halpin and Jack Kirwan make way for James Maguire and Robin Mounsey. Clare crowded the half-forward and midfield sector leaving Diarmuid Cahill and Robin Mounsey as a two man inside forward line. Missing from the corresponding fixture from a Clare perspective at minor level due to senior and injury issues were Mark Rodgers, Shane Meehan and Cian Galvin who is out until next year. Limerick were looking to the talented duo of Cathal O’Neill and Colin Coughlan as the home side had a solid …

Read More »

Minor and U-20 football teams named

The Clare under 20 and minor football teams for this weekend’s Munster championship games have been named. The under 20’s take on Cork in Pairc Ui Rinn on this Friday evening at 7.30p.m in the Provincial semi-final. Cork had a comfortable win over Tipperary last week while Clare will be making their first appearance in the competition this year. The under 20 team is; Stephen Ryan (Kilrush) Jack Sheedy (St. Breckans) Jayme O’Sullivan (Wolfe Tones), Peter Collins (Doora-Barefield); Ikem Ubwueru(Eire Og), Mark Meaney (Coomeen) captain, Tom Hannan (Doora-Barefield; Darragh Bohannon (Shannon Gaels), Jack Hannan (Doora-Barefield); Jonah Culligan (Ballyvaughan) Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Sean Crowley (Kilmihil); Cian Shannon (ennistymon) Jack McGann(St. Breckans) Ross Phelan (Kilrush) Meanwhile the minor football team to face Kerry in Saturday’s Provincial final at Pairc Ui Caoimh (throw in at 4.30p.m) has also been named and it is.Michael Garrihy (St.. Breckans); Jack Reidy (Shannon Gaels) Dara Conneely (Ennistymon), John Murphy (Ennistymon); Gavin D’Auria (Eire Og) Cillian Rouine (Ennistymon) …

Read More »