Car Tourismo Banner
Home » Tag Archives: national league

Tag Archives: national league

FOOTBALL: Tribal troubles in Tuam for Clare

National Football League Division 1 Round 5 Galway 2-8 Clare 1-5 THE promotion race is down to just three candidates after Galway eventually eased past the challenge off neighbours Clare in a rare derby in Tuam Stadium, writes Eoin Brennan. With the other Division 1 prospectors Derry and Roscommon sharing the spoils, Padraic Joyce’s side soared to the top to the Division 2 table after preserving their perfect National League start. Backed by two-thirds of the side that started last year’s Connacht Final against Mayo, the Tribesmen were full value for their victory after a 1-5 unanswered second half blitz with the aid of the strong conditions. In contrast, Clare only had seven survivors from their sole 2021 championship outing against Kerry, which became six after only seven minutes when Podge Collins had to retire early through injury followed just before half-time by Alan Sweeney on an all-round disappointing afternoon. An error-strewn display was matched by a lack of ruthlessness …

Read More »

Clare suffer shock defeat to Antrim in league opener

National League Division 1 Group B Round 1 Antrim 1-21 Clare 0-22 A SOBERING start to the new season for Clare as hosts Antrim grittily dug out a rousing home victory in what was their first top flight league tie since 2008. Eoin Brennan reports. With a strong gale dictating matters, Clare started brightly with its aid to ease 0-9 to 0-3 clear by the 15th minute, four from Tony Kelly. However, Antrim incrementally grew in confidence as the half developed and would wipe out the visitors’ lead in the 29th minute when a teasing ball over the top found chief marksman Ciaran Clarke to race through and finish to the net at 0-12 to 1-09. Clare did restore a two point cushion by the break but with the elements to come, a buoyant Antrim quickly snatched the whip hand to inch ahead for the first time by the 46th minute through Keith Molloy. In a blow-for-blow second period, the …

Read More »

Strong Clare team for NHL opener

  Clare Senior Hurling Joint Managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have named their starting 15 to face Tipperary in the Round 1 of the   National Hurling League at Cusack Park in Ennis at 2.00pm on Sunday.   The team is: 1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen) 2. Jack Browne (Ballyea) 3. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown) 4. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber) 5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) 6. David McInerney (Tulla) 7. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge) 8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara) 9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea) 10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge) 11. John Conlon (Clonlara) 12. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis) 13. Shane O Donnell (Éire Óg Inis) 14. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin) 15. Conor McGrath (Cratloe) SUBSTITUTES: 16. Ronan Taaffe (Tubber) 17. Mikey O’Malley (Kilmaley) 18. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea) 19. Ian Galvin (Clonlara) 20. Daragh Corry (Tulla) 21. Podge Collins (Cratloe) 22. Niall Deasy (Ballyea) 23. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin) 24. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara) 25. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) 26. Mikey O’Neill (Kilmaley) Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Read More »