Home » Sports » Rock Rovers score impressive debut

Rock Rovers score impressive debut

Rock Rovers 2   Lifford A 0

ROCK Rovers marked their arrival in the premier league with an impressive win over fellow Ennis side Lifford A who have been strong challengers for the title in the past two seasons.
They took the lead shortly before the break when a Barry Woods cross deflected off Lifford defender Hamak Kuku and into the net. Early in the second half, Lifford were hit a double blow. Niall White picked up a second yellow card which ended his participation in the game and shortly afterwards, Daryl Eade goaled for the winners to give them a winning start to the new season.

Lifford's Thomas Cronin fights for posession with Dean Gardiner of Rock Rovers. Photograph by Declan MonaghanRock Rovers: Eric Murphy, Greg Howard, Francis Daniels, Luke Coote, Ronan Judge, Jason White, Barry Woods, Daryl Eade, Marty McLoughlin, David Considine, Dean Gardiner.
Subs: Niall McNevin, Eddie Killeen, Rowan Eade.
Lifford: Mike Heith, Lunga Balman, Michael J Sullivan, Robbie Carkhill, Hamad Kuku, Stephen O’Halloran, Gary McNaboe, Niall White, Roberto Pinto, Ryan Boyle, Declan McMahon.
Subs: Thomas Clair, Thomas Cronin.


Bridge Celtic A 1    Bunratty 1

PREMIER league champions Bunratty knew as they set out for O’Briensbridge on Sunday for the opening league game of the season, that they would get a searching test from one of the most consistent sides in the league. And that’s the way it turned out as the home side battled out a share of the spoils with the champions.
Bunratty were first to score when Ally McMillan found the net midway through the opening half. This goal separated the sides at half-time. Early in the second half, Celtic got back on terms when Shane Byrne’s free kick went all the way to the net.
Both sides went in search of a winning goal and Celtic came closest but Bunratty goalie Enda McNamara made a couple of excellent stops in the dying minutes.
Bridge Celtic A: Adrian Douhig, Rob Seymour, William Slattery, Jimmy Fyffes, Trevor Howard, David Hickey, Patrick Murtagh, Barry O’Connell, Shane Byrnes, Richy Mowat, Ger O’Connell.
Subs: Ger O’Riordan, Kevin McEvoy.
Bunratty: Enda McNamara, Shane Purcell, Gearóid O’Connell, Terry Duggan, Richard Lillis, Con Collins, Evan Glynn, Ally McMillan, Noel Collins, Trevor Twomey, Ryan Kelly.
Subs: Daithí O’Connell, Seán McDonald.


Avenue United 5    Shannon Olympic A 0

AVENUE United A served notice that they will be a force at premier level this season when they went to Shannon on Sunday and recorded a comfortable win over Shannon Olympic A.
The winners were two goals to the good at the break thanks to Mickey Mahoney, last season’s top scorer and Graham Glynn who has come through the club’s schoolboy section.
In the second half, Glynn scored a second and other goals came from Eamonn O’Reilly and Declan Field who has rejoined the club after a season with Kilmaley.
Avenue Utd A: John Healy, Gary Seery, Simon Cuddy, Mattie Nugent, Eamonn O’Reilly; David McMahon, Declan Field, Gary Flynn, David Herlihy, Graham Glynn, Mickey Mahoney.
Sub: Cathal Nolan.
Shannon Olympic A: Ronan O’Connor, Mark McKeogh, Brendan McKeogh, Ian Hogan, David Collins, Jason Regan, Donagh Kelly, Karl Scott, Wayne Regan, John Keogh, Seamus Farrell.
Subs: Joey O’Neill, Marco Goncalves.


Rineanna Rovers 3   Newmarket Celtic A 2

RINEANNA Rovers won the bragging rights when they defeated Newmarket Celtic A in this local derby tie on Sunday.
Rineanna took the lead after half an hour when Seánie O’Connor applied the finish after a Jay Hannam cross. They looked like taking this lead to the break but a minute before the end of the half, Mike O’Malley struck for the equaliser.
Early in the second half, Rineanna went back in front when Hannam applied the finish after good work by Paul Butler.
With just over 10 minutes to go to the final whistle, they struck again and Darren O’Connor applied the finish after McGlynn had saved from Butler.
Gary Collins pulled one back for Newmarket but time ran out and Rineanna held on for victory.
Rineanna Rovers: Jason Casey, Neil Ryan, John Earls, Neil Mills, Conor Sweeney, Martin Reidy, Seanie O’Connor, Kieran Keane, Darren O’Connor, Jay Hannam, Paul Butler.
Sub: Diarmuid Nash.
Newmarket Celtic: Ciarán McGlynn; Mark O’Malley, Darren Cullinane, Liam Murphy, Mark Donlon, Seamus Lawlor, Mike O’Malley, Seamus Considine, David Ryan, Keith Power, Michael Devit.
Subs: David O’Grady, Gary Collins, Eoin Kelly.

About News Editor

Check Also

Donal Tuohy departs Clare hurling panel after 12 years

ON Thursday morning, Donal Tuohy announced he would be stepping down from the Clare senior …