Home » Breaking News » Power surge sends St Flannan’s into Dean Ryan Semi-Finals

Power surge sends St Flannan’s into Dean Ryan Semi-Finals

Munster U-16.5A PPS Hurling Championship Quarter-Final
St Flannan’s College 1-19 Midleton CBS (Cork) 1-11

AN auspicious start for St Flannan’s in their Dean Ryan Cup quest after a powerful second half display brushed off the opening challenge of Midleton CBS on away soil to progress to the last four on Wednesday afternoon, reports Eoin Brennan.
With 19 Dean Ryan titles between them, this heavyweight contest inevitably began with a blow-for-blow pattern before St Flannan’s had to respond to a Midleton goal to regain parity by the break at 0-9 to 1-6.
A miserly full-back line of Joe Casey, Paddy Nagle and Ronan Kilroy were instrumental in keeping the home side at bay while inspirational centre-back James Hegarty and midfield duo Eoin Kennedy and Dylan Keane Hayes were perfect linkmen as St Flannan’s upped the ante to outscore their hosts by 1-10 to 0-5 in the second half.
Full-forward Oisin Whelan, who finished with nine points to his name including three from play was central to the visitors’ attacking prowess alongside Luca Cleary (2) and Fred Hegarty (3) while Michael Power raided for a crucial goal that put his side into an clear advantage that they would expertly accentuate further in the final quarter.
A semi-final showdown with De La Salle Waterford now awaits St Flannan’s Junior hurlers in three week’s time (Wednesday, November 3rd) but before the mid-term break, the school’s Under 15 footballers contest the penultimate stage of the Munster Under 15A Championship against Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne (Kerry) next Wednesday on home soil at 1.30pm.

St Flannan’s College: Cian Howard (Éire Óg); Joe Casey (Kilmaley), Paddy Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield), Ronan Kilroy (Banner); Evan Price (Clarecastle), James Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona), Tiernan Collins (Clarecastle); Eoin Kennedy (Ballyea), Dylan Keane Hayes (Kilmaley); Mark O’Connor (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield), Fred Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona), Jack Mescall (Inagh-Kilnamona); Luca Cleary (Éire Óg), Oisin Whelan (Clarecastle), Michael Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
Subs: Tadhg Boddy (Bruff) for O’Connor (50), Kieran McDonnell (Ballyea) for F. Hegarty (55)



Dean Ryan Cup (Munster U16.5A Hurling Championship) Quarter-Finals
St Flannan’s College 1-19 Midleton CBS (Cork) 1-11
De La Salle College (Waterford) 5-20 Nenagh CBS (Tipperary ) 2-10
Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy (Cork) 5-16 Thurles CBS (Tipperary) 1-9
CBC Cork v Ardscoil Rís (Limerick) @ Glen Rovers, Friday 1.30pm

Corn Sheamais Uí Dhonnchu (Munster U16.5B Hurling Championship) Round 1
Rice College Ennis 5-25 Castletroy College (Limerick) 2-8

Corn Chiaráin Uí Dhrisceoil (Munster U16.5D Hurling Championship) Round 1
St Anne’s Community College Killaloe 1-23 Ennistymon CBS 3-6

Munster Under 16.5E PPS Hurling Championship Round 1
Kilrush Community College 6-7 St Caimin’s Community School Shannon 3-6


Munster Under 15E PPS Football Championship Round 1
St Joseph’s Kilkee 2-7 Ennis Community College 2-2

Check Also

Ó Céidigh aims to restore Shannon passenger numbers by 2024

ADDRESSING the Oireachtas Committee on Transport and Communications, Padraig Ó Céidigh again set out his …