Home » Sports » McNamara’s and McMahon on fire as Michael Cusack’s remain unbeaten

McNamara’s and McMahon on fire as Michael Cusack’s remain unbeaten

Division 3 football round up

Goal hungry Cusacks stroll past Killimer

Michael Cusacks 4-13 – Killimer 0-10

A 160km round trip for the Junior A champions as Killimer four days following an opening round defeat at the hands of senior champions Cratloe was not recommended for the Junior A champions as Michael Cusack’s, fresh from a good win over Banner in round 1 were lying in wait for the estuary side.

It was a trip that they will attempt to consign to the never to be mentioned again department as Michael Cusack’s were simply too good for their opponents from the first to last kick of the ball. Sean McNamara who along with younger sibling Oisin were a thorn in the Killimer side all afternoon and Sean had the ball in the Killimer net after 15 seconds. Aidan Forde, Joey Droney added points before Oisin McNamara set up the stylish Domhnall McMahon for the winners second goal after 6 minutes. Sean McNamara added another score before David Foran opened the Killimer account in the 8th minute. A brilliant set up by Droney freed up Noel Hynes who cooly slotted the ball low past Niall Murphy for goal number three. By halftime, Killimer were (3-7) to (0-6) adrift despite second quarter scores from Jack Kelleher Michael Kelleher and Liam Culligan. They did provide their best in the opening minutes of the second-half with three scores in five minutes from Jack Kelleher (2) and Mike Kelleher. Yet, it was all Michael Cusack’s who simply played the game for the remainder of their game at their pace as Aidan Forde had goal number four. Ironically, Aidan Forde, Sean McNamara and Domnhall McMahon each scored (1-3) apiece as they now face neighbours Kilfenora in a round 3 burren derby.

Michael Cusacks scorers: Sean McNamara, Domhnall McMahon, Aidan Forde (1-3) each, Noel Hynes (1-2), Oisin McNamara, Joey Droney (0-1) each

Michael Cusacks: Joe Copley, Conor Fahy, Diarmuid Tobin, John Fawle, Kevin Fawle, Thomas Roche, Seaghan Brosnan Jack McGann, Domhnall McMahon, Tadgh Geoghegan, Oisin McNamara, Noel Hynes, Sean McNamara Joey Droney, Aidan Forde. Subs: Padraig Fahy for K Fawle, Tomas Grady for McMahon, Jack Rushe for J Fawle,

Killimer scorers: Jack Kelleher (0-4), Michael Kelleher (0-3), David Foran, Paul Browne, Liam Culligan (0-1) each

Killimer: Niall Murphy, Martin Crowe, Declan Pyne, Josh Hassett, Kevin Hassett, Liam Culligan, Paul Browne, Sean Reynolds, Brian Grogan, Michael Kelleher, David Foran, Fiachra McKeown, Ruairi Norby, Stephen Grogan, Jack Kelleher. Subs: Jack Browne for Norby, Daniel Moloney for Foran, Joe Meehan for Crowe, Aidan Reynolds for Grogan

In a refixed round 1 on the previous Wednesday night there was a novel pairing between the Senior champions Cratloe and Junior A champions Killimer at the Clarecastle astropitch at the not so pretty time of 9pm. By half-time and the clock racing towards 10pm Cratloe led (1-10) to (0-5) and could easily have tagged on three more first half goals. By the time that Feargal O’ Brien blew the long whistle Cratloe had accumulated a grand final tally of (5-15) as opposed for (0-8) for Killimer. Four days late Cratloe were back in now familiar ground on the astroturf and business as usual for Colm Collins men as they overcame Cratloe (2-8) to (0-3) in round 2 of the division 3 league as one can now barring an upset of immense proportions safely consider Cratloe as promotion candidates for 2025 Garry Cup action.

On Easter Sunday the Deanery in Kilfenora hosted the men from the airport town as Kilfenora were attempting to win their first game at their second attempt. Unfortunately, it was not to be as Johnny Bridge’s managed Wolfe Tones won out on a (1-10) to (1-7) scoreline. The scorers for the Shannon side included Ben O’Connell (1-0), Joe McGauley, Billy Connors, Colin Riordan (0-2) each, Luke Cahill, Tadgh Fitzgerald, Luke Cahill (0-1) each. Once more Kilfenora depended on Clare GAA games manager Micheal Duffy for scores and he delivered (0-6, 3 from play) as Cian O’Conchuir (1-0) and Matthew Egan (0-1) also contributed to the Kilfenora tally as Wolfe Tones led (1-6) to (0-5) at half time.

Naomh Eoin at nearly the third venue of suggestion found themselves taking on Wolfe Tones in a refixed Garry Cup round 1 tie in Clarecastle astroturf but found themselves on the wrong end of a (2-12) to (0-11) final tally as Wolfe Tones opened their season belatedly on a winning note. Tadgh and Niall Fitzgerald were to the fore for the winners with Tadgh on goal scoring form. Colin Riordan and Billy Connors shared (1-6) over the course of the hour with Chris Dunning and Joe McGauley were also in dominant form. Owen Lynch showed up best for Naomh Eoin with (0-8, 3 from play as Conor Magner, Adam Haugh and Niall Bonfil added a score apiece.

Naomh Eoin were on the road once more on Bank Holiday as Brendan Rouine’s intermediate squad welcomed the peninsula men to Ennistymon. The two games for the lighthouse men in three days tallied 300 km in mileage. It was a happier outing for Robert Harte’s charges as they won out on a Naomh Eoin (2-9) Ennistymon (1-5) scoreline. Owen Lynch got 5 points, 2 frees and 3 from play while Sean Bonfil and Seamus Boland struck for a goal apiece, with Eoin Daly’s (0-3) and Andrew Naughton’s (0-1) keeping the scoreboard ticking over for the winners as they led by the minimum (1-3) to (1-2) at halftime. Ennistymon worked hard in the first-half and kept in contact but a strong scoring rally in the third quarter won the tie for Naomh Eoin. Ennistymon scorers included Eoin Marrinan (1-0), Paudie Considine (0-4) and Joe Dowling (0-1). Best for Ennistymon were Mark Kelleher, Christy Organ, James Cullinan and Joe Dowling.

About Michael O'Connor

Check Also

Help the Clare Champion turn social media saffron and blue

Are you Clare’s biggest hurling fan? Do you have what it takes to rival Kildysart …