Home » Sports » High standard in poster competition

High standard in poster competition

Amy Roche from Stonehall with her friends, Shauna and Áine O'Callaghan and Saoirse Reidy, at the Community Games Keep Clare Clean project prize-giving at Waterpark House in Ennis. Photograph by Declan Monaghan
THE Clare Community Games final competition for 2010 was held last Friday in Waterpark House.
The Keep Clare Clean Environmental Competition for both boys and girls, which is supported by Clare County Council and Shannon Development, attracted a very large entry and the standard was extremely high, which made the judges’ decision difficult.
The MC on the night was Kevin O’Loughlin, who welcomed everyone on behalf of Community Games.
Mayor of Clare, Christy Curtin congratulated all the children who participated and produced posters and poems to encourage everyone to keep the county clean and litter free.
He said he acknowledged and admired the work and time given by all the volunteers in Community Games and hoped they can broaden to every area of the county. He wished Clare Community Games the very best as they approach their 40th birthday.


U-6 poster: 1. Eva Mullen (Cratloe); 2. Oisín Flynn, (Quin/Clooney); 3. Aisling O’Rourke (Ballynacally/Lissycasey); 4. Lily Davidson (Kilnamona).
U-8 poster: 1. Aoibhe Ward-Murphy (Broadford/Kilbane/Kilmore); 2. Rachel Cotter (Kilnamona); 3. Róisín McGonagle (Cratloe); 4. Holly Garry (Ballynacally/Lissycasey).
U-10 poster: 1. Páidí Hehir (Cooraclare/Cree); 2. Charlotte Gaule (Cratloe); 3. Katie Gleeson (Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry); 4. Cliona Sutton (Cratloe).
U-12 poster: 1. Caoimhe Roughan (Ruan); 2. Sinéad Power (Kilnamona); 3. Rebecca Ryan (Kilmurry McMahon/Labasheeda); 4. Adrian King (Ballynacally/Lissycasey).
U-14 poster: 1. Áine McInerney (Cooraclare/Cree); 2. Lorraine Kelly (Ballynacally/Lissycasey); 3. Daniel Landers (Tulla); 4. Tadhg Cummins (Cratloe).
U-8 poems: 1. Gráinne Ryan (Ballynacally/Lissycasey); 2. Ava Lenihan (Ennis, St John’s); 3. Sarah Jane O’Halloran (Ruan); 4. Ben Moore Murphy (Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry).
U-10 poems: 1. Laura Brassil (Quin/Clooney); 2. Amy Lenihan (Ennis, St John’s); 3. Noel O’Gorman (Kilmihil); 4. Eoin Walsh (Kilnamona).
U-12 poems: 1. Caitriona O’Gorman (Kilmihil); 2. Tommy Walsh (Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry); 3. Jack Kennedy (Newmarket-on-Fergus); 4. Róisín Mills (Newmarket-on-Fergus).
U-14 poem: 1. Celine Brassil (Ballynacally/Lissycasey); 2. Orla Bunce (Newmarket-on-Fergus); 3. Tracey Fitzgerald (Ballynacally/Lissycasey); 4. Colin Lynch (Quin/Clooney).

Special category
U-8: Amy Roche (Newmarket-on-Fergus); Sarah Casey (An Droichead); Conor Garry (Newmarket-on-Fergus).
U-10: Paul Lyons (Kilnamona); Jason Hickey (Cratloe).
U-12: Con Conlan (An Droichead); Frank O’Dea (Cooraclare/Cree).
U-14: Eoghan Downey (Kilnamona); Róisín Fitzgerald (Newmarket-on-Fergus).

Area AGMs
ALL areas should by now have held their AGM, as each area needs to be registered and insured before competitions begin. The art and model-making competitions have a closing date for entry at the end of January. Any area that requires the county development officer to attend their AGM should contact the county secretary.

About News Editor

Check Also

Semi-final spots up for grabs in race for Canon Hamilton

Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals Newmarket-on-Fergus v Wolfe Tones @ Cusack Park, Saturday 1.30pm A golden …