Home » Sports » Four Clare players make Team of the Year
Mark Rodgers of Clare in action against Dan Morrissey of Limerick during their Munster Senior Championship Final at TUS Gaelic Grounds. Photograph by John Kelly

Four Clare players make Team of the Year

Car Tourismo Banner

Four Clare hurlers have been named on the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Team of the Year.
Feakle’s Adam Hogan, Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe), The Banner’s Shane Meehan and Mark Rodgers (Scariff) have all been selected.
Hogan, Ryan and Meehan were all part of the Mary I side that lifted the Fitzgibbon Cup for the third time in the college’s history after defeating UL by two points in last month’s final in Abbeydorney.
Meanwhile, Rodgers captained the UL side that progressed through to the national decider.
Coached by cousins Jamie Wall and Podge Collins, Mary I lifted the title for the first time since 2017.
They led the way with seven representatives on the team with UL seeing four players selected. There are also three University of Galway hurlers named alongside one from SETU Waterford.
Uachtarán CLG Jarlath Burns said: “Congratulations to the players and institutions whose immense efforts have been recognised in this year’s Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year. We have been delighted to watch the tremendous matchups and skills in this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup, and I look forward to celebrating the players’ and teams’ achievements at our Higher Education Awards Ceremony next month.”
Sarah Sharkey, Group Sponsorship & PR Manager Electric Ireland, commented: “We are thrilled to announce the 2024 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year. Each year, we are proud to be able to support these Championships and bring #FirstClassRivals together, and this season has served as an excellent reminder of the commitment and determination of the players and institutions involved. We would like to extend a huge congratulations to each of the players recognised this year.”
The third level Football Team of the Year will be announced on March 28th while the Football and Hurler of the Year awards will be handed out at a ceremony on April 1st.

2024 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year

  1. Jason Gillane (MICL, Patrickswell & Limerick),
  2. ⁠Adam Hogan (MICL, Feakle & Clare)
  3. Eoin Lawless (University of Galway, St Mary’s Athenry & Galway)
  4. Fergal O’Connor (University of Limerick, Effin & Limerick)
  5. Diarmuid Ryan (MICL, Cratloe & Clare)
  6. Mark Fitzgerald (University of Limerick, Passage & Waterford)
  7. ⁠Joe Caesar (MICL, Holycross-Ballycahill & Tipperary)
  8. ⁠Cathal Quinn (MICL, Cashel King Cormacs & Tipperary)
  9. ⁠Gavin Lee (University of Galway, Clarinbridge & Galway)
  10. Reuben Halloran (SETU Waterford, De La Salle & Waterford)
  11. Gearoid O’Connor (University of Limerick, Moyne-Templetuohy & Tipperary)
  12. Shane O’Brien (MICL, Kilmallock & Limerick)
  13. ⁠Shane Meehan (MICL, Banner & Clare)
  14. Mark Rodgers (University of Limerick, Scariff & Clare)
  15. Niall Collins (University of Galway, Cappataggle & Galway)

About Ivan Smyth

Check Also

Brennan is back and raring to go

Cillian Brennan is Clare captain like his brother Gary before him, but that honour aside …