Home » News » European Parliament posts for Kelly and Clune
Sean Kelly MEP. Photograph by John Kelly

European Parliament posts for Kelly and Clune

Two Ireland South MEPs, Deirde Clune and Sean Kelly have secured membership of much sought-after European Parliament committees.

As the new parliamentary term began in Strasbourg this week,  Fine Gael delegation leader in the parliament, Mairead McGuinness, confirmed the party’s committee memberships.

They are:

Mairead McGuinness (Midlands North West)

– Full membership of Agriculture & Rural Development/AGRI, substitute on Environment, Public Health & Food Safety/ENVI

Sean Kelly (South)
– Full membership of Industry and Energy/ITRE, substitute on Internal Market/INTA

Deirdre Clune (South)

– Full membership of Transport & Tourism/TRAN, substitute on Employment & Social Affairs/EMPL

Brian Hayes (Dublin)
– Full membership of Economic & Monetary Affairs/ECON, substitute on Development/DEVE & Budgetary control/CONT
“We have been successful in securing membership of committees which are important to Ireland and the EU. These committees will be pivotal in driving the agenda for growth and jobs in the EU,” Ms McGuinness said.
“The next five years in the European Parliament must focus on creating the right environment for small and medium sized enterprises to grow and prosper. This will include ensuring that banks begin to lend to the real economy and that interest rates are competitive to allow for investment and growth,” she added.

About Colin McGann

Check Also

Appeal for more support in responding to Clare’s refugees

“MORE boots on the ground” are being sought to support Ukrainian refugees and the communities …