Car Tourismo Banner
Home » Breaking News » Clare trio secure hurling All-Star awards
David Fitzgerald was one of three Clare All-Stars and the first from his club Inagh-Kilnamona. Photograph by John Kelly

Clare trio secure hurling All-Star awards

THREE Clare players Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell and David Fitzgerald have secured PwC GAA/GPA All Star awards for their excellent campaigns this season.

Kelly becomes only the third Clare man to secure four All Star awards, joining Brian Lohan and Jamesie O’Connor in achieving this feat. Kelly and Lohan are the only two Clare men to have been named as an All Star for three consecutive seasons.

Meanwhile, O’Donnell and Fitzgerald scooped their first All Star awards after the pair produced top quality displays throughout the Championship. Fitzgerald plundered 2-18 during Clare’s run to the All Ireland semi final while O’Donnell scored 0-15.

The Éire Óg man was named Player of the Month for May. O’Donnell’s return to the fold for this year’s Championship was a major boost for Lohan’s side and he certainly adapted quickly, with his aerial prowess and sniper like ability in front of the posts key to Clare’s run to the last four.

Fitzgerald secured Inagh-Kilnamona’s first ever All Star in a year where he produced a series of consistent displays. The midfielder translated a strong league campaign in to a memorable Championship summer.

Other Clare hurlers to receive nominations include Paul Flanagan (Ballyea), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe), David McInerney (Tulla), John Conlon (Clonlara) and Ryan Taylor (Clooney/Quin).

All Ireland champions Limerick secured seven All Star awards with wing back Diarmuid Byrnes named Hurler of the Year. Nickie Quaid, Barry Nash, Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes and Aaron Gillane were all honoured.

TJ Reid, Mikey Butler, Adrian Mullen and Huw Lawlor were the Kilkenny representatives on the team while Padraic Mannion is the sole selection from Galway.

2022 All Star Hurling Team: Nickie Quaid (Limerick); Mikey Butler (Kilkenny), Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny), Barry Nash (Limerick); Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Padraic Mannion (Galway); David Fitzgerald (Clare), Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny); Gearoid Hegarty (Limerick), Kyle Hayes (Limerick), Shane O’Donnell (Clare); Aaron Gillane (Limerick), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Tony Kelly (Clare).

About Ivan Smyth

Check Also

Investigation underway into Shannon crash

GARDAI in Shannon are investigating the circumstances around a crash that saw a boy sustain …