Home » Sports » Clare storm into All-Ireland quarter–final

Clare storm into All-Ireland quarter–final

Niamh O’Dea holds off the challenge of Tipperary’s Barbara Ryan. Photograph by Declan Monaghan
Clare  2-15   Tipperary  0-9

AN excellent second-half display, during which Clare outscored their Munster rivals by 1-8 to 0-2, was the key to their impressive victory over Tipperary in Claughaun last Sunday evening. Clare now play Dublin in the All-Ireland quarter-final this Saturday.

It was the Premier girls who started the better last weekend. Edel Hanley, an All-Star two years ago, pointed them ahead within a minute from a free. Gillian O’Brien from play and Hanley again from a free saw them lead by three with just over five minutes played. Clare’s Niamh O’Dea, who went on to have an outstanding game, got Clare off the mark with a point from play, having earlier missed a free. Tipperary, who had a very good opening quarter in which their forwards were completely on top, added a point through full-forward Patricia Hickey, while Niamh O’Dea scored her second point from a free.
Once more, O’Dea, who the previous day played a starring role with the Clare minor camogie team in their drawn All-Ireland final against Galway, kicked Clare’s third point and soon after Tipperary were unfortunate when attacking wing-back Jennifer Grant saw her attempt at goal come back off the crossbar. Liscannor’s Marie Considine equalised with a long-range point, while Eimear O’Connor put Clare ahead with the first of her three points from play. A Rachel Lenihan goal eventually helped Clare into a 1-7 to 0-7 interval lead.
Niamh Keane gathers ahead of Tipperary’s Jennifer Grant. Photograph by Declan MonaghanNiamh O’Dea stretched Clare’s lead with a point inside 30 seconds. A Tipperary move ended with a fine save from Clare goalkeeper Emma O’Driscoll when she tipped Anne Marie O’Gorman’s shot over the bar. A point from the hard-working Marie Considine and one from centre-forward Niamh Keane put Clare 1-10 to 0-8 ahead before Jennifer Grant and Eimear Considine were sin binned with about 11 minutes played.
With Louise Henchy, Fiona Lafferty and Eimear O’Connor particularly impressive and much better second-half performances from team captain Sinéad Eustace, Lorraine Kelly, Carmel Considine and Michelle Delaney, Clare put in a massive second half to put the Munster final defeat to Cork well behind them.
It was the county’s first ever match in the qualifiers. Dual star Fiona Lafferty stretched Clare’s lead with a fine point. Eimear Considine had only just returned to the field of play when she had her side’s second goal to put Clare 2-12 to 0-8 ahead and there was really no way back for Tipperary, who just added one further point.
Clare used the last seven minutes to give four subs a run with Sarah Hoey, Áine Kelly, Ailish Considine and Katie Geoghegan all introduced. Clare also missed a few scoring opportunities but will take heart from a fine overall team performance. Clare finished off with points from Eimear O’Connor (two) and Niamh Keane, while midfielder Mairéad Morrissey, who scored her side’s final point, was the third Tipperary player to be sin binned with time almost up.
The full quarter-final draw is Cork v Tyrone, Clare v Dublin, Galway v Kerry and Monaghan v Laois.
Clare: Emma O’Driscoll (Banner Ladies), Sinéad Eustace (Coolmeen, captain), Lorraine Kelly (Fergus Rovers), Carmel Considine (Liscannor), Michelle Delaney (Banner Ladies), Sinéad Kelly (West Clare Gaels), Laurie Ryan (Banner Ladies), Marie Considine (Liscannor, 0-3), Louise Henchy (Banner Ladies), Fiona Lafferty (Miltown – St Joseph’s, 0-1), Niamh Keane (Banner Ladies, 0-2), Eimear O’Connor (Coolmeen, 0-3), Eimear Considine (Kilmihil, 1-0), Rachel Lenihan (Crusheen, 1-0), Niamh O’Dea (Banner Ladies, 0-6, 0-3f).
Subs: Sarah Hoey (Banner Ladies) for C Considine, Áine Kelly (Fergus Rovers) for R Lenihan, Ailish Considine (Kilmihil) for E Considine and Katie Geoghegan (West Clare Gaels) for N O’Dea.
Tipperary: Nora Noonan (Brian Borus), Aoife O’Dwyer (Brian Borus), Maeve Corcoran (Moycarkey Borris), Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers); Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus, 0-1), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Siobhán Costello (Cappawhite), Kelly Hackett (Moycarkey Borris), Mairéad Morrissey (Brian Borus, captain, 0-1); Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers, 0-3); Mairéad Luttrell (Mullinahone), Síle Carew (Cappawhite); Catherina Walsh (Moycarkey Borris), Patricia Hickey (Brian Borus, 0-1), Edel Hanley (Aherlow, 0-2f).
Subs used: Anne Marie O’Gorman (Cahir, 0-1), Angie McDermott, Teresa McManus, Nancy Ferris and Eimear Myles.
Referee: Joe Murray (Dublin).


About News Editor


Check Also

The Final Whistle With Liam Murphy

There were two things that were obvious in the build up to last Saturday evening’s …

error: Content is protected !!