Home » Sports » Young All-Stars honoured at awards ceremony

Young All-Stars honoured at awards ceremony

Award winners Kelly Finngan, Michael McDermott, Chantelle Burke and Conan Fitzgerald. SIXTY-five boys and girls from across Clare were presented with Clare Community Games All-Star awards at the county organisation’s annual awards banquet on Friday night at the West County Hotel.

Long-time official Tommy McCarthy from Kilmurry McMahon/Labasheeda and the St Mary’s Athletic Club was presented with the Hall-of-Fame award for his work in promoting athletics and the games in the county.
The award for the most active area went to Quin-Clooney and Billy Sanderson presented the International Police Association trophy to the group for the first time.
Frank Neylon, Mayor of Ennis, congratulated the award winners, and spoke of the importance of participation for young people in sports. He commended Community Games for introducing so many children to sporting competition. He confirmed the availability of the new facilities at Lees Road for Community Games for the future.
Tommy Brennan, deputising for Mayor of Clare Tony Mulcahy, also wished the organisation well and committed to helping in any way he could.
Over 300 people were present at the West County Hotel and enjoyed the entertainment provided by the Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry Variety Group.
The county AGM will be at 8pm on November 3 in the West County Hotel and all Community Games areas are reminded hold their local AGMs as soon as possible, and to get nominations to county secretary Mary Phelan before this Friday.
Clare will host the Munster finals in March and July 2010, and in the lead-up, the county looks forward to hosting the Munster AGM in the West County Hotel, Ennis on December 6.


About News Editor


Check Also

Nash Expecting To Have To Wait To Make Bid For Third All-Ireland Doubles Handball Crown

Derrick Lynch Clare handball hero Diarmaid Nash admits his bid for a historic third successive …