ESB Apprentice Moneypoint
Home » Sports » Wolfe Tones cut loose and retain senior status

Wolfe Tones cut loose and retain senior status

ESB Apprentice Moneypoint

Brian O’Connell scored a first-half goal for Wolfe Tones. Photograph by John KellyWolfe Tones 5-12 Kilmihil 0-6

KILMIHIL’S season nose-dived further last Sunday when Wolfe Tones recorded an emphatic win at the Éire Óg grounds.
Wolfe Tones are now safe from relegation and play Kilrush in the Senior B semi-final. However, Kilmihil must prepare for a relegation dogfight against O’Curry’s.
The West Clare side’s season didn’t turn last weekend – it turned when they relinquished a seven-point lead, 10 minutes from time, against Shannon Gaels in their opening championship game last June.
Since then, Kilmihil have been relegated to Division 3 in the league, while their championship form has plummeted.
Wolfe Tones, who missed a number of goal chances in their previous championship outing, led 1-8 to 0-2 at half-time as they finally showed what they are capable of.
Brian O’Connell netted the first-half goal, while Kevin Cahill, Gary Leahy and Jamie Roughan added points.
Leahy’s early second-half goal from a penalty finished Kilmihil, who also had Timmy Ryan red-carded about 10 minutes into the second half.
Daniel Gallery, Leahy and even Johnny Bridges added a goal each as Wolfe Tones romped home.

Wolfe Tones: Jason Casey; Bobby O’Connell, Seán Brennan, Craig O’Brien; Brendan Hughes, Joe McCauley, Eoin Danagher; Johnny Bridges, Patsy Keyes; Daniel Gallery, Brian O’Connell, Chris Dunning, Jamie Roughan, Gary Leahy, Kevin Cahill.
Subs: Stephen McInerney for Eoin Danagher, Alan Downes for Chris Dunning and Kevin Corbett for Patsy Keyes.

Kilmihil: Eamon Ryan; Conor Crowley, Declan O’Shea, Laurence Murray; Karol Downes, Rory Mohally, Derek O’Connell; Timmy Ryan, David Ryan; Alan Normoyle, Mark Coughlan, Philip Ryan; Shane Egan, Shane Mangan, Mark O’Connell.
Subs: Seán O’Leary for Alan Normoyle, Shane Egan for Conor Crowley and  Michael Darcy for Karol Downes.


About News Editor

Check Also

Two Clare players make All-Ireland Minor Hurling team of year

Clare duo Eoghan Gunning and James Hegarty have been named in the Electric Ireland GAA …