Home » Sports » U-14s compete in Marion Keane tournament

U-14s compete in Marion Keane tournament

ST Joseph’s Doora-Barefield GAA grounds in Gurteen was the venue for the conclusion of the Clare county U-14 ladies’ football trials last Saturday. Four teams competed for the Marion Keane Memorial Cup and Shield. The tournament and trials ran over the last four weeks.
The four teams included girls that had gone through the 2010 Clare U-13 development programme since last August, under the guidance of Joe Downes, Sharon Malone and Edel Malone.
The finals showcased the improved skills the girls had acquired and they were evident in the fast-flowing games refereed by Tony Henchy and Johnny Hayes.
The Striped team, captained by Blaithnead Sheedy, triumphed over the Green team, led by captain Áine Looney in a very spirited cup final, while the Blue team captained by Elaine Casey just managed to hold their first-half lead over Ann Marie Hayes’ Saffron team to claim the shield.
Clare ladies’ football chairperson Johnny Hayes presented the cup and spoke of the improvement evident over the last four weeks. St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield chairperson Trudy Davenport presented the shield to Elaine Casey and spoke of the enduring memory of Marian Keane, who passed away in her prime in 2004. Team managers Joe Downes and Sharon Malone addressed the squad and remarked upon the improvements in their displays.
The following girls took part in the tournament: Eve Copley, Emma Kavanagh, Aoife Keane, Lauren Keane, Aoibinn Malone, Gráinne Nolan, Eva O’Dea, Elaine Casey, Laura Chesser, Emma Neylon, Niamh O’Brien (Banner Ladies); Bronagh Considine, Shannon McCormack, Blainead Sheedy (Burren Gaels); Siobhán Halpin, Jane Halpin, Jessica Leamy (Clooney/Quin); Gillian Finucane, Chloe Normoyle (Coolmeen); Nicole Downes, Áine Looney (Cooraclare); Niamh Conway, Nicole Golden, Rianna Lillis (Doonbeg); Mia Hanrahan, Michaela Fitzpatrick, Sarah Jane O’Connell, Orla O’Reilly (Doora-Barefield); Elana Bradley, Amy Hayes (Éire Óg); Lauren Griffin, Rachel Hill, Shauna Hill (Fergus Rovers); Áine Cunningham, Rebecca Doohan, Chloe Moloney (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Ciara Coughlan, Kate Coughlan, Caoimhe Dennehy, Ciara Downes, Rebecca Mahon (Kilmihil); Aoife Carrig, Kayla Crowley, Orlaith Crowley, Jessica Gilligan, Sarah Shannon     (Kilrush); Clionadh Egan, Ellie McGlennon, Kate Considine (Liscannor); Laurie Browne, Ann Marie Hayes, Megan Maguire (Newmarket); Ronya Baumann (Shannon Gaels); Amy Keane, Lauren Keane, Rachel Muldoon, (West Clare Gaels); Meagan  Johnston, Danah King (Wolfe Tones) and Michelle Downes.
The U-14 management team have now selected the panel members for 2011. With less than four weeks remaining until the first Munster championship fixture away to Waterford, the panel will be training twice weekly in preparation.

About News Editor


Check Also

Coughlan Laments Lost Opportunity For Open Draw All-Ireland Minor Football Series

Derrick Lynch The manager of the Clare minor footballers feels an opportunity was missed by …