Home » Tag Archives: Spanish Point Golf Club

Tag Archives: Spanish Point Golf Club

Spanish Point Golf Club rewards Doreise’s tranformation

A WEST Clare woman’s dedicated efforts to boost her health and fitness have secured her a top prize in an annual wellness initiative run by Spanish Point Golf Club. Doreise Power, who is from Quilty and now lives in Mullagh, took part in a ten-week initiative running alongside Operation Transformation from January to March this year. While the pandemic put paid to plans for a gala presentation night, a lower-key presentation was made recently to a delighted Doreise. Mervin Hehir of Spanish Point Golf Club said the local Operation Transformation initiative was aimed at making a difference to people in the dark months of the year, and about creating activities for the whole community. “The golf club is community owned and we wanted to take away any suggestion that clubs are stuffy places,” he explained. “That’s why, last year, we decided to run a 10-week programme alongside Operation Transformation on RTÉ. We really wanted to help people learn about fitness …

Read More »

Latest golf results from Clare clubs

The lady captain’s (Ann White) prize was played for at Spanish Point last weekend when the format was 18 hole stableford. Maura O’Boyle emerged as the winner with 35 points. Evanna Farrelly was second on 33 points with Helen McGrath, also with 33 points, in third spot followed by Yvonne O’Keeffe with 32 points. Kathleen Haugh with 19 points and Evelyn Kelly with a similar score won the nines. Eileen Murrihy won the best over 30 handicap section with 31 points. Karen White won the committee prize with 29 points, Valerie Shannon won the past captain’s prize with 29 points. The long drive was won by Yvonne O’Keeffe while Evelyn Kelly was nearest the pin. Maureen Clune with 21 points won the visitor’s section. The winners of the nine home mixed scramble were Denis White, Noel Pilkington; Jim Dowling and Patrick O’Boyle Kilrush THE winners of the senior ladies scramble at Kilrush last week were Imy Kerrigan, Marion Brennan, Maeve …

Read More »

Latest results from Clare golf clubs

By Seamus Hayes THE inaugural Munster final of the Irish Boys inter-club championship will take place in Tramore golf club on Tuesday July 31. Among the eight clubs from across the province competing, will be two from Clare. Ennis and Lahinch will be the two representatives from North Munster and they will join Waterford Castle and Youghal (South Munster), Tralee and Ballybunion (West Munster), Mahon and Kinsale from South Munster Following proposals at provincial level last November, the event was added to the GUI Championships calendar for 2018. The new event is a strokeplay team event with five golfers playing for each team. Based on handicaps, the event differs from the Fred Daly trophy with the best three nett stableford scores counting towards each teams total.  The winning team will go forward to the All-Ireland finals which will also be played at Tramore at the end of September.  Play in Tramore gets underway at 11am with the final group of golfers teeing …

Read More »

Latest golf results from Clare

Huge turnout for Dave Foley testimonial at Dromoland By Seamus Hayes THE David Foley testimonial day on Friday was a huge success. After twenty years as the professional at Dromoland, Foley is leaving to take up a position in Scotland. The winners of the team event with an impressive 121 points were Majella and Ellie Cotgreave, Mary Anne Sheils and Moira Cunningham.. they had ten points to spare over John O’Shaughnessy, Tom O’Sullivan, Ellie and Tony Cotgreave who were two ahead of Nigel and Alex Frost. Fergal and David Kennedy. In fourth spot with 108 were Mick O’Shea, Michael Flannery, Barry Walshe and Don barrett while the fifth placed team comprised David Fitzgerald, Shay O’Vallaghan, Eoin Garrahy and Jeeves Kochhar and they had 105 points. Sunday’s 18 hole singles competition at Dromoland was won by Alan Ryan with 41 points from Declan Cusack with 39 and Robert Bailey with 38. Hugh O’Neill won the 18 and over handicap section with …

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!