Home » Tag Archives: Minor (page 4)

Tag Archives: Minor

Kennedy points the way for Kilmaley

By Seamus Hayes Kilmaley 1-13 Feakle-Killanena 0-13 Kilmaley are the minor A hurling champions for the third time in six years, thanks to a merited one goal victory over Feakle-Killanena at Cusack Park on Saturday afternoon. Appearing in the final for the third year in a row, they bounced back from last year’s loss to win back the title they last held in 2012. The game’s only goal proved to be a crucial score and it came five minutes before the break when the elusive Sean O’Loughlin found the net The winners went into the game with a full squad available and this meant that Sean Kennedy who missed the semi-final was back in the side. He emerged as the game’s top scorer with 0-11 to his credit, ten coming from placed balls. This was one of a number of key performances for the winners. At the other end of the pitch, goalkeeper Conan Fitzgerald was outstanding, producing three particularly …

Read More »

Minor footballers exit Munster in thriller

Waterford 6-9 Clare 4-12 CLARE exited the 2014 Munster minor football championship in a thrilling tie at Fraher Field in Dungarvan on Tuesday evening. Both teams were committed to all out attack and notched some superb scores during 60 minutes of terrific attacking football, although the defending, at both ends, was not quite as impressive. Waterford scored a goal with their first attack when Joe Allen netted 13 seconds after his team won the throw in. That set the tone for a magnificent spectacle. Come half time the home county had added three more goals and led 4-4 to 1-4. Darren Nagle scored Clare’s first half goal with a top class finish while Evan Courtney, Liam Madigan and Keelan Sexton pointed some great scores. The second half was full of goals with Sexton twice netting for Clare, while Evan Courtney added the remaining goal. However every time Waterford attacked they looked dangerous and raised green flags too regularly for the …

Read More »

Minor footballers make four changes

By Seamus Hayes THE Clare team which will face Limerick this Wednesday evening in the first play-off game in the losers round of the Munster championship shows four changes in personnel and wholesale positional switches from the side which went under to Kerry last week. Only four of the players will start in the same positions they filled against Kerry. Into the side come Liam Tierney, Conor Downes, Maccon Byrne and Liam Madigan, all of whom were introduced last week and they replace Eoin Hanrahan, Aaron Rudd, Conor Finnucane and Micheal Duff. The team is Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey); Liam Tierney (St. Breckan’s), Pearce Lillis (Cooraclare), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin); Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora) Brian Cahill (Lissycasey) Colm Pyne (Killimer); Conal O hAinifein (Éire Óg) James Woods (Éire Óg); Maccon Byrne (St. Breckan’s), Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey); Aidan Davidson (St. Breckan’s), Eimhin Courtney (Éire Óg), Liam Madigan (Kilrush).

Read More »

Clare run riot in second half

By Seamus Hayes Clare 6-25 Kerry 0-11 Clare had an easy passage to the next stage in the Munster minor hurling championship with this victory over Kerry at Cusack Park on Tuesday evening. The win sets up a meeting with Tipperary, again at Cusack Park, next week with a place in the semi-final of the competition awaiting the winners of that game This runaway victory did now seem likely as the half time whistle approached. Clare had got off to a great start hitting 1-2 without reply after four minutes but Kerry had the next five points to draw level by the end of the first quarter. Five minutes from half time just two points separated the sides with Clare ahead, 1-6 to 0-7 and struggling to stamp their authority on the game. They finished the half strongly, hitting 1-4 without reply, to lead by nine at half time when the score was 2-10 to 0-7. The second half was …

Read More »

Clare name minor team to face Kerry

By Seamus Hayes THE Clare minor football team to play Kerry in the opening round of the Munster championship at Cusack Park on this Wednesday evening has been announced. County minor champions , Lissycasey have four players in the side, while Kilrush forward,Liam Madigan is ruled out due to injury. Clare take on a Kerry side that will be backboned by up to eight members of the Chorca Dhuibhne team from Dingle, which won the All-Ireland Colleges (Hogan Cup) title for the first time on Saturday last. The team is; Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey); Brian Cahill (Lissycasey) Pierce Lillis (Cooraclare), James Woods (Éire Óg); Conal O’ h-Ainifein (Éire Óg) Colm Pyne (Killimer), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora); Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey), Eoin Hanrahan (Doora-Barefield); Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Eimhin Courtney (Éire Óg), Aaron Rudd (Wolfe Tones); Conor Finnucane (Lissycasey), Micheál Duffy (Kilfenora), Aidan Davidson (St Breckan’s).

Read More »

Waterford’s strong finish too much for Clare

By Seamus Hayes Waterford 1-13 Clare 0-11 There was heartbreak for the Clare minor hurlers at Cusack Park on Wednesday evening when they went under by five points to All-Ireland champions Waterford in the opening round of the Munster minor championship. Everything pointed to a Clare win when the home side led by three points with just seven minutes remaining However, Waterford fired home three points in two minutes to level with five still to play and Clare were clearly rattled. Substitute Eddie Meaney made a huge impact for Waterford in the remaining time, hitting the lead point with three to play and sealing his team’s victory a minute later with the game’s only goal folowing a defensive error on Clare’s part. Clare must now look to the backdoor route in their search to get back into the title race. They will play Kerry on Wednesday April 23 with the winners of that tie then taking on the loser of …

Read More »

Minor hurlers ‘face a huge task’

By Seamus Hayes The Clare team to play All-Ireland champions Waterford in ther opening round of the Munster minor hurling championship at Cusack Park on this Wednesday evening at 6.30 p.m. was named after training on Tuesday. Wolfe Tones will have three members on the team while Sixmilebridge, Clonlara, Inagh-Kilnamona and Kilmaley have two each. “This is a huge task for Clare, the biggest we have faced at this stage of the minor championship for some time. We have only a couple of last year’s panel in the squad while Waterford have a good sprinkling of their All-Ireland winning minor team while they won the All-Ireland under 16 title  two years ago”, Clare manager Eamonn Fennessy said. “Our goal is to give a performance and get these lads ready for the next step”, Fennessy added. The team for this eagerly awaited first round is; Jacob Loughnane(Sixmilebridge); Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona), Seamus Downey (Clonlara), Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones); David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), Dara …

Read More »

Minor title for Lissycasey

By Seamus Hayes Lissycasey were crowned Clare minor A football champions at Cooraclare on Sunday when they accounted for Kilmurry-Ibrickane. A point separated the teams (2-4 to 1-6) when referee Gerry Keane sounded the final whistle on what was a very difficult day for football with a near gale-force wind causing a lot of problems for the players. Lissycasey got off to a dream start with a goal from full-forwad Ciaran Doohan inside the opening minute. They went on to lead throughout and had their second goal from a Conor Finnucane penalty, awarded for a foul on Niall Meere,  fifteen minutes into the game. Kilmurry battled back in the second half but trailed by four points as the game went into injury time. Two minutes of added time had been played when Keith Sexton scored their goal but it came too late to prevent Lissycasey from winning their second title at this level, the first having come in 2009.   …

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!