Home » Tag Archives: history

Tag Archives: history

Vast research behind The Time of The Tans

STILL a teenager when he started collecting people’s stories, Tomás Mac Conmara’s new book The Time of the Tans is backboned by many years of work. It’s an oral history of the War of Independence in Clare and he said the fact that he spent so long gathering the information and accounts at the core of the book, means The Time of the Tans means a lot to him. “I’d say it is the most important one at a personal level. Anything you do like that, in terms of publishing a book, you put a lot of years and time into it, and you should do so as a historian. But because it has been 20 years in the making, almost all of the people who I interviewed and who were good enough to share their memories with me have passed away. It’s very sad in one sense, but it was always my point, that they would be gone. Historian …

Read More »

Hayes strikes twice as Newmarket make history

Newmarket Celtic A 2 Avenue United B 0 In a year in which they contested the concluding stages of the Munster junior cup, the FAI junior cup and the Munster champions cup, its fitting that Newmarket Celtic should make Clare soccer history. At a sun splashed Clare soccer county grounds at Doora this Saturday evening, they won the Clare cup for a record fifth year in succession, a result that sees them extend their lead at the top of the roll of honour. Eoin Hayes scored both goals for the winners and was later named as the man of the match. The first came just after the mid point when Hayes was adjudged to have been fouled in the area after winning possession from a Stephen Kelly delivery and referee Pa Gleeson had no hesitation in pointing to the penalty spot. Brian Callinan picked up a yellow card for the foul and Hayes drilled the ball low to the corner …

Read More »

An historic first for Mary I.

Mary Immaculate College 1-30 University of Limerick 3-22 Mary Immaculate College Limerick won the Fitzgibbon cup (inter Universities hurling championship) for the first time when they defeated the holders, University of Limerick in a thrilling final hosted by Cork I.T this Saturday afternoon. Four Clare players contributed in a final which required extra extra time to produce a winner. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate), Colm Galvin (Clonlara) and Darragh Corry (Tulla) were in the starting line up while Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley) was introduced at the three quarter stage in place of Galvin in a tie in which the teams were level on no less that nineteen occasions. There were six Clare players in the starting U.L team. They were Gearoid Ryan (Clarecastle) at corner back, Jack Browne (Ballyea) at full back, Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley) at midfield, Kevin Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona) at midfield, David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) at wing forward and Cathal McInerney (Cratloe) at corner forward. U.L were managed by Brian Lohan. Afterwards winning …

Read More »

Lohan chasing history with U.L.

History will be made in Cork this Saturday afternoon when University of Limerick and Mary Immaculate college Limerick clash in the final of the Fitzgibbon cup (inter Universities hurling championship). U.L, managed by Clare’s All-Ireland winning full back from1995 and 1997, Brian Lohan are seeking to retain the title for the first time while Mry Immaculate College are seeking to win the title for the first time. The holders scored a 3-14 to 0-16 win over UCD in the first of the semi-finals played on Friday while Mary I were two point winners, 0-11 to 0-9, winners over the Davy Fitzgerald managed Limerick I.T. There is a strong Clare representation in both finalists. Amongst those expected to feature in the champions line up are Jack Browne (Ballyea) Gearoid Ryan (Clarecastle), Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley), Kevin Hehir and David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), Cathal McInerney and Shane Gleeson (Cratloe). They will again be without the injured Tony Kelly (Ballyea) The Mary Immaculate line up …

Read More »

St Caimin’s, the history makers

St Caimin’s  Shannon 20  Abbey CBS, Tipperary 17 St Caimin’s Community school Shannon made rugby history at the 4G pitch at the university of Limerick this Tuesday afternoon when they won a Munster rugby title for the first time. Having qualified on Friday last with a 22-15 win over Clonmel High school, the Clare side produced another impressive display when overcoming another Tipperary school in the final. Behind 5-10 at half time, St Caimin’s  came storming back in the second half to capture the honours. By Seamus Hayes, Sports editor   Photographs by John  Kelly

Read More »

Kilmurry-Ibrickane make Cusack cup history

In scoring a two point win over Clondegad in the final of the Clare Champion sponsored Cusack cup at Kilmihil on Sunday, Kilmurry-Ibrickane made Clare football history as they became the first club to win the title for the fifth time in succession. For long periods it looked as if they would have to come back another day to decide the outcome before the Kilmurry men managed to edge ahead in extra time to win by two points, 1-16 to 1-14.  They were locked together at 1-12 each at the end of normal time. Clondegad went into the game chasing a first success in this competition, the Clare senior football league, and they certainly made their more experienced opponents fight all the way. It was Kilmurry’s second title in a week as they were crowned senior B champions a week earlier. Clondegad’s juniors contested the division 4 league final on Saturday when they played out a draw with Eire Og. This …

Read More »

Another first for Cratloe

By Seamus Hayes Cratloe 3-7 Ballygunner 1-1o Cratloe continued their history making feats when they defeated Waterford champions Ballygunner in the opening round of the Munster senior club hurling championship at Walsh Park in Waterford on Bank holiday Sunday. The victory was the first by the club’s hurlers as, in their only previous venture into this competition, they lost to Ballygunner at the same venue back in 2009. A near galeforce wind made playing conditions very difficult for the players but Cratloe show that, despite their long season, they are still hungry for success. Having won the toss, team captain Liam Markham elected to play with the aid of the wind and it proved to be a wise decision. Two goals from man of the match Conor McGrath had the Clare champions ahead by seven points, 2-2 to 0-1, at the end of the first quarter. They were eight clear, 2-4 to 0-2, when the half time whistle sounded and …

Read More »

Manager Daniels hoping to make history

By Seamus Hayes Ennis Town Rock A manager Francis Daniels is no stranger to cup final day and he is well versed on what it takes to compete at this level. Back in 2008 he was team captain when Rock Rovers captured the title, beating Bunratty in the final. A win o n Saturday evening would see him join a select group who have captained and managed cup winning sides. Current panel members Shane Daniels, Barry Woods and Ronan Judge were also part of that cup winning side. Ennis Town and Rock Rovers joined forces in 2012 and have made steady progress since then although manager Francis is quick to point out “we didn’t have a good year last season when we were in a relegation battle in the league and were knocked out of the cup at an early stage”. “We set out this season with the aid of not being involved in relegation and of getting a good …

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!