Home » Tag Archives: Hamilton

Tag Archives: Hamilton

Title number 13 for Sixmilebridge

Sixmilebridge 1-20 Clooney-Quin 1-14 Sixmilebridge are tonight celebrating a third Clare senior title in five years when they proved too strong for Clooney-Quin in the Clare senior hurling final replay. Before an attendance of 5,892, up by just over three hundred from the previous week’a drawn decider, they showed improved form and deservingly captured the Canon Hamilton trophy for the thirteenth occasion in this the anniversary of their first win which was achieved back in 1977. A sharper and hungrier Sixmilebridge made no mistake on this occasion and emerged as deserving winners on a day when veteran Niall Gilligan captured his sixth success. The All-Ireland medal winner with Clare in 1997 was in the starting line up this afternoon from the start and he made a valuable contribution to the team’s victory. According to Clooney-Quin mentor Dave Barry “They were just stronger than us. They won an awful lot of ruck ball and that was pure power. Once you are …

Read More »
Brendan Bugle is struggling with injuries but Clare still have a great chance of winning on Sunday..

Whitegate shock Cratloe as race for Canon Hamilton begins

Whitegate’s one point win over Cratloe in the opening round of the Clare senior hurling championship is the big talking point in Clare hurling circles this Saturday evening. While there was speculation in the lead up to the tie, played at Dr, Daly park in Tulla, as to how it might go, Cratloe remained the favourites to get their campaign off to a wining start. Substitute Eoin Patterson proved to be the East Clare side’s hero as he struck for their fourth goal which came at the death. Cratloe started well and held an early four point lead but then Whitegate got the upperhand and when the half time whistle sounded they were 3-5 to 0-9 in front. The teams exchanged points on a number of occasions in the third quarter before Cratloe battled back and edged into the lead after some good scores from Shane Gleeson, Conor McGrath and Podge Collins. They looked to have secured victory until Patterson …

Read More »

Bonfires blaze throughout Ballyea after historic first title win

Ballyea 2-14 Clonlara 1-14 Bonfires are blazing across Ballyea this Sunday evening after history was made at Cusack Park in the afternoon when Ballyea won the Clare senior hurling championship title for the first time. [data-ps-embed-type=slideshow] > iframe {position: absolute;top: 0;left: 0;} _psEmbed(“http://photos.clarechampion.ie”); In a replayed final they were the stronger team and fully deserved their win over favourites Clonlara on a day when they were never headed. A man of the match performance from Niall Deasy who scored 1-3 together with outstanding displays from Clare football captain Gary Brennan and inter county hurlers Jack Browne, Paul Flanagan, Gearoid O’Connell and Tony Kelly were key ingredients in this victory. First half goals from Gary Brennan and Niall Deasy helped the new champions to lead at the break on a score of 2-5 to 0-8 and while Clonlara fought back to level eleven minutes into the second half when their captain John Conlon found the net, Ballyea simply refused to fold. …

Read More »

Cratloe edge closer to historic double

By Seamus Hayes Cratloe 0-14 Crusheen 0-6 Cratloe’s dream to be the senior hurling and football champions of Clare in 2014 is very much alive. A comfortable win over Crusheen in the hurling decider this afternoon means that they are just one win away from achieving what Ennis Dals did way back in 1914. Victory over Eire Og in the football final next Sunday will not only see them retain the Jack Daly cup which they won for the first time last year, it will confirm their place as the kingpins of senior hurling and football in Clare While the hurling final won ‘t be remembered as one of the better finals, there can be no disputing the merit of Cratloe’s victory, In winning the Canon Hamilton trophy for the second time (they won their inaugural title in 2009), they justified favouritism on a day when they led from the start. Two points ahead inside the opening minute, they dominated …

Read More »

Four remain in Hamilton Cup race

By Seamus Hayes Four teams remain in the race for the Hamilton Cup, the prize for the winners of the Clare Senior Hurling Championship. With Ballyea having secured their passage to the last four with a surprise but fully merited win over a fancied Crusheen side on Saturday, the remaining three places were filled on Sunday afternoon. Sixmilebridge, Clonlara and champions Newmarket justified favouritism when accounting for Tubber, O’Callaghan’s Mills and Inagh-Kilnamona respectively. The Mills were somewhat unlucky to lose out by a point to Clonlara in a tie that required extra time before the South-East Clare side went through by the minimum margin. Cathal O’Connell was their top scorer with 0-8, while Colm Galvin scored five points. O’Callaghan’s Mills contributed handsomely to the most exciting game of the day and were unlucky to bow out of the title race. They will now turn their attentions to the Clare Champion Cup (senior league) semi-final and the senior B final. Champions …

Read More »