Home » Tag Archives: Four

Tag Archives: Four

Clare make four changes for Laois tie

The Clare team to face Laois in the opening round of the senior hurling qualifiers shows four changes in personell from that which started against Waterford in the Munster semi-final four weeks ago. Into the starting line up come Andrew Fahy, Jack Browne, David McInerney and Aron Shanagher and they will replace Patrick Kelly (injured), David Fitzgerald, Darach Honan and Conor McGrath(injured). The inclusion of David McInerney is a huge boost as it wasn’t expected. The Tulla man has been out of action due to a back injury for the past three months and wasn’t expected to return at this time. He has been named as midfield partner to David Reidy and all involved will be keeping their fingers crossed that he will come through the game without suffering a recurrence of the injury which has kept him out of action for so long. The team named for duty is Andrew Fahy (Whitegate); Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara), Pat O’Connor (Tubber), Cian …

Read More »

Clare make four changes for clash with Laois

There are four changes in personnell on the Clare senior hurling team for this Saturday’s league clash with Laois at Portlaoise from that which started against Wexford last time out. Into the side come Andrew Fahy, Brendan Bugler, Aaron Cunningham and Bobby Duggan and they replace Patrick Kelly, Jack Browne, Aron Shanagher and Conor McGrath. Jack Browne is ruled out due to injury. Brendan Bugler will be making his first start since last summer. He has recently returned to action following surgery on his shoulder. The team is; Andrew Fahy (Whitegate): Pat O’Connor (Tubber), Cian Dillon (Crusheen) Captain, Paul Flanagan: Brendan Bugler (Whitegate) David McInerney (Tulla), Conor Cleary (Miltown St. Josephs): David Reidy (Eire Og), Conor Ryan (Cratloe): John Conlon (Clonlara), Colin Ryan (Newmarket) Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea); Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones), Shane O’Donnell (Eire Og), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle). By Seamus Hayes

Read More »

Four Changes for Clare

By Seamus Hayes The Clare team named to start against Kilkenny at Nowlan Park on Sunday shows four changes in personnel from that which lined out against Dublin on Saturday last. Into the team comes Patrick Kelly, Jack Browne, Seadna Morey and Colin Ryan and they replace Donal Tuohy, Brendan Bugler (suspended), Pat O’Connor (injured) and Shane Golden. Colin Ryan was unavailable for the Dublin game while Seadna Morey will be making his first start of this campaign. Joint team captain Pat Donnellan will line out at wing back where he impressed in the second half of the game against Dublin. Morey is named as midfield partner to Colm Galvin but may be asked to fill a sweeper’s role with Tony Kelly moving out to partner Galvin. The team is Patrick Kelly; Paul Flanagan, David McInerney, Jack Browne; Pat Donnellan, Conor Ryan, Cian Dillon; Colm Galvin, Seadna Morey; John Conlon, Tony Kelly, Colin Ryan: Aaron Cunningham, Shane O’Donnell, Conor McGrath …

Read More »
Shane Brennan under pressure from Paddy Maguirein their Division 4 National Football League game at Miltown Malbay.

Clare make one change for Division 4 final

By Seamus Hayes The Clare team for Saturday’s Division 4 football league final against Tipperary at Croke Park (throw in 5p.m.) shows one change in personnell from that which beat Antrim last time out to secure promotion to Division 3. Shane Brennan is named in the starting line up in place of the unavailable Sean Collins who is in Portugal with the Clare hurlers on their training camp. Collins’ brother Podge, a very influential player after being introduced in that game in Creggan, will also miss Saturday’s fixture because he is also with the hurlers. In a positional switch, Enda Coughlan returns to defence and Ciaran Russell is now selected at wing forward. Shane Brennan is named at full forward with Martin O’Leary and David Tubridy in the corners. The team is: Pierce DeLoughrey (Cratloe); Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry-Ibrickane); Shane Hickey (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (Miltown St. Joseph’s), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry-Ibrickane); Gary Brennan (Clondegad) captain, …

Read More »

Minor footballers make four changes

By Seamus Hayes THE Clare team which will face Limerick this Wednesday evening in the first play-off game in the losers round of the Munster championship shows four changes in personnel and wholesale positional switches from the side which went under to Kerry last week. Only four of the players will start in the same positions they filled against Kerry. Into the side come Liam Tierney, Conor Downes, Maccon Byrne and Liam Madigan, all of whom were introduced last week and they replace Eoin Hanrahan, Aaron Rudd, Conor Finnucane and Micheal Duff. The team is Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey); Liam Tierney (St. Breckan’s), Pearce Lillis (Cooraclare), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin); Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora) Brian Cahill (Lissycasey) Colm Pyne (Killimer); Conal O hAinifein (Éire Óg) James Woods (Éire Óg); Maccon Byrne (St. Breckan’s), Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey); Aidan Davidson (St. Breckan’s), Eimhin Courtney (Éire Óg), Liam Madigan (Kilrush).

Read More »

Clare make four changes for top of table clash

By Seamus Hayes There are four changes in personnel to the Clare team for the top of the table, round 4 Allianz hurling league clash with Waterford from that which scored a comfortable win over Tipperary at Thurles last week. Domhnaill O’Donovan, one of the All-Ireland final heroes, is named for his first start since his memorable performances in Croke Park last September. He will play in his regular corner back spot in place of the injured Seadna Morey. Hat trick hero from the All-Ireland final replay, Shane O’Donnell returns in place of the injured Darach Honan while, in a re-arranged forward line, Cratloe duo Podge Collins and Cathal McInerney start in place of Clonlara pair Cathal ‘Tots’ O’Connell and Colm Galvin, both of whom are due to play with their club Clonlara in the county under 21 A hurling championship at noon on Monday. The team to face the Deise outfit is; Donal Tuohy; Domhnaill O’Donovan, Cian Dillon, David …

Read More »

Four remain in Hamilton Cup race

By Seamus Hayes Four teams remain in the race for the Hamilton Cup, the prize for the winners of the Clare Senior Hurling Championship. With Ballyea having secured their passage to the last four with a surprise but fully merited win over a fancied Crusheen side on Saturday, the remaining three places were filled on Sunday afternoon. Sixmilebridge, Clonlara and champions Newmarket justified favouritism when accounting for Tubber, O’Callaghan’s Mills and Inagh-Kilnamona respectively. The Mills were somewhat unlucky to lose out by a point to Clonlara in a tie that required extra time before the South-East Clare side went through by the minimum margin. Cathal O’Connell was their top scorer with 0-8, while Colm Galvin scored five points. O’Callaghan’s Mills contributed handsomely to the most exciting game of the day and were unlucky to bow out of the title race. They will now turn their attentions to the Clare Champion Cup (senior league) semi-final and the senior B final. Champions …

Read More »