Home » Tag Archives: final (page 6)

Tag Archives: final

Cratloe ‘a shining example to all clubs’

CRATLOE are “a shining example to all clubs because of how much they value the club scene” is the view of Kilmallock manager and former Clare hurler, Ger O’Loughlin. “I have the utmost respect for the lads from Clare. When I needed lads to answer the call during my time at Clare manager, they responded and they were still in their teens. They have come on so well. “It will be a huge task for us to overcome the game they play, as there are so many areas they could beat you in. It will be a huge obstacle for us,” said the Clarecastle man, who helped his club win the Munster title in 1997. O’Loughlin continued, “When we set out this year, the primary target was to win the Limerick title. It’s not easy to get out of Limerick, as there are four or five strong contenders. We were absolutely delighted to get through that campaign and we had …

Read More »

Iconic Lohan backs committed Cratloe

THE presence of Brian Lohan on the Cratloe training field, dressing room and sideline is one that adds solidity and steel to the Clare champions’ set-up. You get the feeling that when Lohan talks, his words are taken on board. That’s simply because of what he achieved on the hurling field and how he went about it. Many of the Cratloe players won’t remember 1995 or 1997 but what happened and Lohan’s role in that will be well known to them. More pertinently, Lohan, along with fellow coach, Alan Neville, has what everyone in Cratloe wants on Sunday, a Munster club medal.That’s a medal the Shannon man, who lives in Cratloe, says he values more now than he did in 1996, when Wolfe Tones ruled Munster. “As you live longer, it gets more important. It wasn’t that big a deal when you were playing but the longer you’re retired, the more important it becomes. It was the same when we …

Read More »

Cratloe lose toss for Munster final venue

By Seamus Hayes The Gaelic Grounds in Limerick will host the Munster club hurling final between Clare champions Cratloe and Limerick’s Kilmallock on Sunday week, November 23, when the throw in time will be 2p.m. The venue was decided on the toss of a coin at the Munster council offices in Limerick on Tuesday evening. Following the meeting of Crusheen and Limerick’s Na Piarsaigh in the 2011 Munster final when the council’s decision to stage that game at Thurles received much criticism, the provincial body decided that in any similar situation in the future where teams from neighbouring counties would clash, a toss of a coin between the respective county grounds would take place to determine the venue. Last year Cusack Park hosted the final between Sixmilebridge and Limerick’s Na Piarsaigh and that was decided on a toss of a coin. The council adopted the same process this year and on Tuesday evening, a coin was tossed to determine whether Limerick’s …

Read More »

Eire Og retain u-21 football title

By Seamus Hayes Eire Og 3-10 Liscannor/Kilfenora/Ml. Cusacks 1-7 A strong final quarter helped title holders Eire Og retain the Clare under 21 A football championship title at Hennessy Park in Miltown on Saturday afternoon when they proved too strong for the North Clare amalgamation of Liscannor/Kilfenora/Ml. Cusacks. The victory marked the Ennis club’s third in this championship and there is no denying the merit of their latest success. However, it took them a while to establish the upperhand and there were concerned faces in their camp at the half way point when they were just a point ahead after playing with the aid of the wind in the opening half. The amalgamation side showed one change to their starting line up to that which lined out in the semi-final a week earlier with Cian O’Dea ruled out due to suspension. The Kilfenora teenager’s appearance before the Hearings committee of Clare GAA on the previous night failed. He was replaced …

Read More »

Holders through to u-21 football final

By Seamus Hayes Title holders Eire Og are one step away from retaining the under 21 A football title after their comprehensive 1-13 to 0-5 win over Clondegad at Lissycasey. In the final they will face a North Clare amalgamation known as Clan Lir after they proved too strong for Naomh Eoin/O’Currys at Cooraclare. Hennessy Park in Miltown will host the final on Saturday next (November 8). A seven point tally from Paddy O’Malley helped Eire Og to this latest win and their followers will be hoping that they can go on a retain the title and help make up for the disappointment suffered when losing the senior and minor championship finals. They dominated the first half and, helped by a Shane O’Donnell goal, were well on their way to the final by half time when they led 1-11 to 0-3. The other semi-final proved to be a much tighter affair but the physically stronger North Clare combination deservingly came …

Read More »

Cratloe and Éire Óg to contest senior football final

Champions Cratloe and Éire Óg will contest the final of the Clare senior football championship following their semi-final victories over Cooraclare and Kilmurry-Ibrickane respectively. Their final clash will be a repeat of the opening round which Cratloe won by three points, 2-12 to 1-12. Coincidentally, both sides had winning margins of four points at the weekend. On Saturday in Kilmihil, Eire Og were always in control in their clash with Kilmurry-Ibrickane and emerged 0-14 to 1-7 winners, with the West Clare side’s goal coming in injury time. Kilmurry-Ibrickane finished that game with thirteen men after Shane Hickey and Evan Talty were sent off while, earlier, Odran O’Dwyer picked up a black card which ended his involvement in the game. The early exchanges of Sunday’s semi-final at Cusack Park was evenly fought but, gradually, Cratloe got the upperhand and emerged with a 0-12 to 0-8 win. This result keeps the South Clare side’s dream of winning both the senior hurling and …

Read More »

Kennedy points the way for Kilmaley

By Seamus Hayes Kilmaley 1-13 Feakle-Killanena 0-13 Kilmaley are the minor A hurling champions for the third time in six years, thanks to a merited one goal victory over Feakle-Killanena at Cusack Park on Saturday afternoon. Appearing in the final for the third year in a row, they bounced back from last year’s loss to win back the title they last held in 2012. The game’s only goal proved to be a crucial score and it came five minutes before the break when the elusive Sean O’Loughlin found the net The winners went into the game with a full squad available and this meant that Sean Kennedy who missed the semi-final was back in the side. He emerged as the game’s top scorer with 0-11 to his credit, ten coming from placed balls. This was one of a number of key performances for the winners. At the other end of the pitch, goalkeeper Conan Fitzgerald was outstanding, producing three particularly …

Read More »

Cleary returns for All-Ireland final

By Seamus Hayes Fit again Conor Cleary returns to the Clare team for tomorrow’s All-Ireland under 21 final clash with Wexford at Thurles. The Miltown Malbay native who plays his club hurling with Kilmaley, missed the semi-final win over Antrim because of a broken thumb suffered while playing in the Clare senior championship with Kilmaley against Sixmilebridge. In the only change to the starting line up from the team which started against Antrim  in the semi-final, Cleary returns at centre back to the exclusion of Alan O’Neill. Cathal O’Connell who, like O’Neill, was in the starting team in last year’s final, has failed to get into the starting line up on this occasion but he is listed amongst the substitutes. The game against Wexford throws in at 7p.m. and will be refereed by Cork’s Cathal McAllister. The Clare team is; Keith Hogan (Clooney-Quin); Jarlath Colleran (St. Josephs), Jack Browne (Ballyea), Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge); Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea), Conor Cleary (Miltown), Jamie …

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!