Home » Tag Archives: Burren Cycling Club

Tag Archives: Burren Cycling Club

Clare club shows up well in first foray into Rás Tailteann

Burren Cycling Club secured some notable finishes as the club competed in the Rás Tailteann for the first time. With Burren CC being the first representatives from Clare to compete in the prestigious event since 1991, there was pressure on the team to deliver. They rose to expectations as the team of Mark Shannon, Danny MacDonald, Simon Kelly, Paul Kennedy, Richard Meaney and reserve Ger Troy all played their role in a terrific team effort. Burren CC finished as the sixth county team overall after five days of tough racing. Meanwhile, Lacey Cup winner Danny MacDonald showed his potential by securing a seventh placed finish in Stage Four, which started in Lisdoonvarna. The Clooney man also grabbed a top 10 finish in the final stage as he highlighted his growing reputation on the circuit. The Clare club certainly ended their first ever Rás campaign on a positive note with MacDonald the third county rider to cross the finish line while …

Read More »

Lisdoon stage win would be dream for Clare team in Rás Tailteann

Burren Cycling Club is set to compete in the Rás Tailteann for the first time in the club’s history. This will be the first time a team from the county has entered the Rás since 1991. Team Clare entered in 1989, 1990 and 1991 with Burren CC set to compete in this year’s hosting of the prestigious race. The club have entered a strong team. Mark Shannon, who won this year’s Crotty Cup is selected as the Bellharbour man is currently the highest ranked rider on Cycling Ireland’s ranking tables. Clooney’s Danny MacDonald is also included as he looks to build on his strong early season form after lifting the Lacey Cup. Richard Meaney brings experience having previously competed in the Rás as the former Connacht champion is a breakaway specialist. Simon Kelly also possesses useful experience of competing in this gruelling event while Paul Kennedy is a Masters 40 National Time Trial Champion & winner of a Rás Mumhan …

Read More »