Home » Sports » Strong finish steers Clare to victory
Aaron Cunningham of Clare scores a vital point late during their National Hurling League game against Dublin at Cusack Park. Photograph by John Kelly.

Strong finish steers Clare to victory

Clare 0-20 Dublin 1-15

Clare’s hopes of playing in the league quarter final and avoiding the relegation play off received a boost with this hard earned two point win over Dublin at Cusack park this afternoon.

Played before an attendance of 4,370, the home side finished strongly to record their second win of the campaign, a result which puts them in a quarter final position with one game to play.

This was a tie which could have gone either way but Clare simply refused to concede and put in a strong finish to emerge with victory.

Despite playing against a fresh wind, Clare started well and went 0-5 to 0-3 in front after fifteen minutes.

Dublin struck for the game’s only goal midway through the opening half, Ryan O’Dwyer getting the vital touch to find the net and from here to half time they had the better of matters and had a five point lead, 1-10 to 0-8, when the half time whistle sounded.

With just under ten minutes to go to half time, Clare’s decision to withdraw Ian Galvin came as a surprise. He was sent back into the action with ten minutes to go and went on to score a point to add to the two he had contributed before he was called ashore.

Clare hit the opening three points when the second half got underway but then Dublin responded with three making it quite clear that they would not go down without a fight.

Clare then hit five in a row to level the game with thirteen minutes remaining, the equalising score coming from defender Seadna Morey.

Points were exchanged twice and a draw looked the likely outcome as the teams headed into the final minute still on level terms. Aaron Cunningham then landed a great point for Clare who finished out the tie with one from Ian Galvin.

Scorers; Clare; David Reidy (0-8). all frees Ian Galvin (0-3) Seadna Morey, Jamie Shanahan, (0-2) each Podge Collins, David Fitzgerald, Cathal McInerney, Jason McCarthy, Aaron Cunningham (0-1) each

Dublin; Ryan O’Dwyer (1-0); Chris Bennett (all frees), Niall McMorrow (0-3) each, Donal Burke (frees), Ben Quinn, Eamonn Dillon (0-2) each, Liam Rushe, Chris Crummy, Fiontan McGibb (0-1) each

Clare; Patrick Kelly; David McInerney, Cian Dillon, Seadna Morey; Brendan Bugler, Conor Cleary, David Fitzgerald; Jamie Shanahan, David Reidy; Cathal Malone, Podge Collins, John Conlon; Aron Shanagher, Peter Duggan, Ian Galvin;

Subs: Cathal McInerney for Galvin; Jason McCarthy for Shanahan, Aaron Cunningham for Duggan; Ian Galvin for Collins

Dublin; Conor Dooley; James Madden, Shane Barrett, Eoghan O’Donnell; Cian McGabhain, Liam Rushe, Chris Crummy; Ben Quinn, Domhnall Fox; Fiontan McGibb, Niall McMorrow, Rian McBride; Eamonn Dillon, Ryan O’Dwyer, Donal Burke;

Subs; Chris Bennett for Burke; Caolan Conway for McBride; Cian O’Sullivan for McGibb; Cian Boland for O’Sullivan; Fionn O’Briain Broin for Madden.

Referee; Alan Kelly, Galway

By Seamus Hayes

About News Editor

Check Also

WATCH: Casey grabs Irish U20 10k record in carnival atmosphere

Ennis Track’s Dean Casey secured a new Irish U-20 10,000m record last weekend in London, …