Home » Sports » St Senan’s sunk by Cobh Pirates

St Senan’s sunk by Cobh Pirates

St Senan’s travelled to Cobh on Sunday knowing that they needed to take something from the match to give their chances of survival in Division 1 a boost.

Cobh Pirates 17
St Senan’s 3

Senan’s started the game confidently, holding off the Pirates’ early attacks and took the lead after minutes with a well-struck penalty by Declan Collins.
The game then became a battle between both sets of forwards, with neither side able to break through for a clear scoring opportunity.
Late in the half, Senan’s were down to 13 men and Pirates were down to 14 as both sides became frustrated with the stalemate. With the very last play of the half, it was the home side that broke the stalemate, running in the first try of the game. This was converted and they went in leading 7-3.
Boosted by their late first-half try and with some good movement of the ball, Cobh broke through Senan’s defence to add a second try within minutes of the restart.
The game then followed the pattern of the first half, with both sides failing to ­create any real clear-cut scoring opportunities.
Senan’s had a very good opportunity with about 10 minutes to go, when they found themselves encamped on the Pirates’ 5m line.
An infringement handed possession back to Cobh and with the last play, they ran in a late try to finish the game.
This latest defeat leaves Senan’s at the bottom of the table and facing relegation back to Division 2.
This week, St Senan’s are in cup action against Crosshaven in Jimmy Slattery Park at 2.30pm on Sunday.
St Senan’s: Pa Ryan, Ger Hall, Tony O’Brien, Mike Lyons, Jack Jones, Dermot Fitzgerald, Aaron Skerritt (captain), Stephen Ryan, Darragh McCoy, Darren Guerin, David Dunne, Chris Sloan, Fran Duggan, Shane Thompstone, Declan Collins.
Replacements: John Paul Elsley, Edward Slattery, Gary Crowe, Brian Collins and David Webb.
The club will hold their annual Night at the Dogs at Limerick racetrack on Saturday. Tickets are available from any committee member.


Ennis 12
Clanwilliam 16

Division 2 leaders Clanwilliam were a little fortunate to record a victory over Ennis at Drumbiggle on Sunday.
They got off to a great start when getting in for the game’s only try as early as the fifth minute and they soon followed up with a penalty to take a 10-0 lead.
Ennis got their first points when Bryan Murphy landed a penalty and he followed with another and then added a drop goal to leave just a point between the teams at half-time, when the score was 10-9 to the visitors.
Clanwilliam landed a penalty early in the second half before Murphy replied to again cut the deficit to the minimum. Poor discipline on the part of the home side led to another penalty for the visitors and this was converted to stretch their advantage.
In the closing minutes, Ennis threw everything into attack but they just could not get over the line for the try they needed to give them victory.
Ennis: Niall McMahon, Mark O’Halloran, Shaun O’Flanagan, Gary Duggan, Greg O’Flanagan, Bryan Murphy, David Murphy, Damian Forde, Rory Murphy, Roy Duggan, Pa Harding, Jason Considine, Mike McInerney, Liam Ryan, Brian Farrell.
Subs: Enda Galvin, Joe Moloney, Niall Downes and Eoin Downes.
This week it’s back to cup action for the Ennis side as they welcome Richmond to Ennis for a third-round tie at 2.30pm.

Scariff 10
Killarney 17

Killarney remain in second place in the Third Division League, following a 17-10 victory over Scariff in their game played at Lees Road on Sunday.
The foundations for this success were laid in the opening 20 minutes when the visitors raced into a 17-0 lead. Before the break, Scariff went over the line with great back and forward play for Barry Gibbons to score, leaving the score 17-5.
Scariff dominated possession throughout the second half with good displays from James Kelly, Robert Drealin and Darren MacNamarra. This possession was rewarded with a try from Robert Drealin, leaving the score 17-10.
The last 20 saw attacks from Scariff as they tried to get level but poor finishing and good Killarney defending denied Scariff any further scores.
Scariff: David Harte, Colin Bugler, Joe McGrath, Rory Slattery, Marcus O’Neill, Bernard McGrath, Henry Mooney, Robbie Madden (captain), Barry Gibbons, Michael Madden, Shane Gibbons, Steve Madden, Kenny Mason, Ger McGuire, Conor McNamara.
Replacements: Paul McTiernan, Robert Drealin, Darren McNamarra, James Kelly and Tyronne Elliot.

Kilrush 10
Castleisland 52

Division 3 leaders Castleisland recorded an easy win over Kilrush last Sunday at Monmore. Martin Griffin and David Egan scored tries for the home side.
Kilrush: Mike Keating, Trevor Downes, Pat O’Malley, Dave Hartley, David O’Grady, Ben Hopkins, Martin Griffin, Declan Griffin, Ray Conway, Paul Conway, John Conway, Andrew O’Neill, David Egan, David Brew, Michael Maguire.
On Sunday Kilrush travel to Cork to play Shandon in the Munster Junior Plate.

About News Editor

Check Also

Delightful title double for Parteen Under 13s

When titles are rarely captured by a club the delight is evident when in three …