Home » Sports » St. Flannans into Frewan cup final

St. Flannans into Frewan cup final

St. Flannans 1-14 De La Salle, Macroom 1-13

Clare football received a great boost this week when St. Flannans qualified for the Frewan cup (Munster colleges junior A football championship) final thanks to a one point win over De La Salle, Macroom.

An outstanding performance from Philip Talty who kicked 0-8 from play played a key role in this win which has given the Ennis side a place in the final against St. Brendans Killarney or Colaiste Chriost Ri from Cork.

St.Flannans found themselves three points in arrears with less than three minutes played but they kicked the next five to take a two point lead and they went on to open a 0-10 to 0-5 lead as half time approached. Macroom had the last two points of the half to trail by three at half time whenthe score was 0-10 to 0-7.

Macroom had the first score of the second half before Gearoid Cahill converted a free for the winners.Macroom kicked the next two points to cut the lead to the minimum, 0-11 to 0-10.

St. Flannans substitute Stephen Talty then struck for a goal and this was followed by a point from his brother Philip at the winners opened a five point lead as the three quarter stage approached.

De La Salle hit back with 1-1 to cut the winners lead to the minimum again. Gearoid Cahill converted another free for the winners but De La Salle pulled it back to the minimum as the game went into ‘injury time. Eoin Thynne had the final say with a point for the winners to seal their place in the decided.

The defence was strong throughout while elsewhere Philip Talty and Eoin Thynne were prominent.

St.Flannans; Tom O’Brien (St. Josephs); Dara Hickey (Banner), John Finnucane (Kilmihil) Liam McGrath (Corofin); Ikem Ugwuere (Eire Og), Dara O’Shea (St. Josephs)0-1, Gearoid Collins (Eire Og); Ronan Cahill (Kilmaley) Ian Molloy (Banner); Eoin Thynne (St. Josephs) 0-2, Gearoid Cahill (Corofin) 0-2, Ronan Collins (Banner); Conor Breathneach(St. Josephs) 0-1 Niall Galvin(Clarecastle), Philip Talty (Eire Og) 0-8

Subs;-– Stephen Talty (Eire Og)1-0 for R. Collins; Kevin Keane (Corofin) for Galvin

Disappointment for Lisdoonvarna

Mary Immaculate College Lisdoonvarna bowed out of Munster action when they went under to Mitchelstown by two points (0-13 to 2-5) on Saturday afternoon

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

WATCH: Casey grabs Irish U20 10k record in carnival atmosphere

Ennis Track’s Dean Casey secured a new Irish U-20 10,000m record last weekend in London, …