Home » Sports » St Anne’s narrowly defeated by Dungarvan

St Anne’s narrowly defeated by Dungarvan

Dungarvan CBS 3-7
St Anne’s, Killaloe 2-7

ST Anne’s, Killaloe bowed out of the race for the Munster colleges senior B hurling championship (Corn Phádraig) at Cashel on Wednesday when they went under to Dungarvan CBS in a great contest at Cashel.

Having scored a comfortable win when the sides met in the league section of the competition, the Waterford side went into Wednesday’s semi-final as strong favourites.
However, St Anne’s had other ideas and they put down a marker from the outset. A superb goal from Donie Whelan in the early minutes gave them the lead. Peter English scored their second goal midway through the half and when the half-time whistle sounded, the Killaloe side were in front by two points, 2-4 to 1-5.
A cross-field wind didn’t cause too many problems for the players but underfoot conditions were, understandably, very sticky following the heavy rain of recent days.
In the early stages of the second half, St Anne’s missed a couple of chances to extend their lead from placed balls before Dungarvan managed to get through for two goals, which edged them into the lead.
The final quarter was a very low-scoring affair with defences very much on top. Despite their best efforts, St Anne’s failed to get through for an equalising goal and Dungarvan held on for victory and a place in the final against either Mallow or Cashel.
This was a great team effort from the Clare side, whose midfield and defence was particularly impressive. They showed a marked improvement from their earlier game against the same opposition.
This Thursday, St Anne’s will take on Rice College in the opening round of the U-15C championship (Corn Solo).
St Anne’s: Jason Monaghan (Smith O’Brien’s); Cian Nolan (Smith O’Brien’s), Shane O’Brien (Clonlara), Niall Sheehy (Ballina); David Gough (Smith O’Brien’s), Mark Stritch (Smith O’Brien’s, 0-2), Dan Finnerty (Ballina); Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara), Mark O’Halloran (Smith O’Brien’s); Christopher Monaghan (Smith O’Brien’s, 0-1), Rory Skelly (Ogonnelloe, 0-2), Michael Breen (Ballina, 0-2); Peter English (Ogonnelloe, 1-0), Brian Hurley (Ballina), Donie Whelan (Broadford, 1-0).
Sub: Ciarán Downey (Clonlara) for Hurley.

About News Editor


Check Also

Nash Expecting To Have To Wait To Make Bid For Third All-Ireland Doubles Handball Crown

Derrick Lynch Clare handball hero Diarmaid Nash admits his bid for a historic third successive …