Home » Sports » Solid win for Kilrush in West Clare final

Solid win for Kilrush in West Clare final

U-12 Football

THE finals of the West Clare board’s U-12 football championships for the Fergus Credit Union trophies took place last week at Kilrush and Coolmeen.
Kilrush A beat Kilmurry-Ibrickane while Shannon Gaels proved too strong for Kildysart.

Kilrush 5-9
Kilmurry IB 3-9

JOHNNIE Williams got Kilrush off to a great start in this final played in excellent conditions at Kilrush when he scored a goal.
Kilmurry had a point from Dermot Coughlan who added 1-2 but in the last five minutes of the half, Eric Copley scored 1-1 for the winners while Ross Phelan added 0-1 to leave the half-time score at 2-4 to 1-3.
On the resumption, Kilmurry-Ibrickane piled on the pressure but the winner’s defence held firm. At the other end, Johnny Williams contributed 2-1 while Mark Shannon, Ross Phelan, Mark Fennell and Eric Copley added points.
Kilmurry’s scorers in the second half were Dermot Coughlan, with 1-4, Chloe Moloney, Daniel Walsh and Paudie Murrihy.
After the game, Fergus Credit Union director, PJ Murphy presented the shield to the winning captain Mark Fennell while the West Clare board chairman Michael Crowe presented medals to both teams.
Kilrush: Michael Downes; Mark Downes, Aron Kelly, Conor Roche, Mark Fennell, Stephen Ryan, Patrick Clair, Niall Ellis, Ross Phelan, Johnny Williams Eric Copley.
Subs: Mark Shannon, Brian Carmody, Ray Glynn, Billy Clancy, Cloda Larkin, Michael Bonfield, Eric Cahill, Martin Hall, Joseph Miniter, Brendan Casey.
Kilmurry-Ibrickane: Darragh Moloney, Caolfhionn O’Dea, David Sexton, Lauren McCarthy, Diarmuid King, Dermot Coughlan, Cillian O’Flaherty, Conor Nugent, Daniel Walsh, Chloe Moloney, Paudie Murrihy.
Subs: Danny Keavey, Jason McInerney, Maurice Donnellan, Pádraig Conway.
Referee: Barry Kelly, Miltown.


Shannon Gaels 1-6
Kildysart 1-2

SHANNON Gaels captured the U-12B title with a good win over Kildydart in a game played before a big attendance at Coolmeen.
Luke McGrath was first to score when he put Kildysart in front and this was the only score of the opening half.
Barry Crehan goaled for Kildysart in the opening minutes of the second half but then the Gaels hit strongly with a coal from Cormac Moloney and points from Dara Bohannon (3), John Ryan, Aron Malone and Ronya Bauman.
Luke McGrath replied for Kildysart but it wasn’t enough and the Gaels held on for victory.
After the game, Anne Hayes, secretary of the West Clare board presented the trophy to the winning captain, Ronya Bauman.

Shannon Gaels: Carol Kinsella; Stephen King, Aron Malone-Smith, Eoin Keane, Ronya Bvauman, Cormac Moloney, Dara Bohannon, Tara Kelly, Cian Moloney, Kenneth O’Shea, John Ryan.
Subs: Jaden Gadd, Leane Tubridy, Michael Kelly, Ian O’Shea, Kyle Crilly.
Kildysart: Aodhan O’Loughlin, Seamus Casey, Cormac Guinnane, Michael Donnellan, Jack Currane, Kieran O’Brien, Stephen Sheehan, Ryan, Casey, Luke McGrath, Barry Crehan, Conor Donnellan.
Subs: Sarah McGann, Aras Slowbody, Diarmuid O’Donnell, Emmett McMahon, D Cusack.
Referee: Seán Ryan, Kilrush.

About News Editor


Check Also

Planning Permission Granted For New Stand At The Home Of Clare Soccer

The Clare District Soccer League has been granted conditional planning permission to construct a stand …

error: Content is protected !!