Home » Sports » Second quarter proves costly for Clare
Eoin Cleary of Clare turns to celebrate his goal against Cork during the Mc Grath Cup final in Mallow. Photograph by John Kelly.

Second quarter proves costly for Clare

Cork 1-15 Clare 1-9

A strong second quarter by Cork in which they outscored Clare by 0-8 to 0-2, proved decisive in this McGrath cup senior football league final at Mallow this evening.

[doptg id=”94″]

Clare can take a lot of positives from a game in which they created a number of goal chances which they failed to convert but they will be disappointed at the manner in which they gave away possession on occasions.

Management will be pleased at the fact that Kevin Harnett, Shane McGrath and Pat Burke got some game time under their belts ahead of the commencement of the league next week but there will be some concern that both Martin O’Leary and Joe Hayes picked up injuries which led to both of them been replaced

The first quarter was evenly contested and at the mid point of the half the sides were level at 1-3 each. Clare had taken the lead three times before Cork hit the front for the first time when Brian Hurley got inside the Clare defence and shot low past Joe Hayes.

Straight from the kick out Clare launched an affack and, after good work by Gary Brennan, Eoin Cleary finished the move when fisting to the net.

Fron here on Cork had the better of matters and after Colm O’Driscoll levelled the tie, the home side was unlucky not to score a second goal when O’Driscoll’s effort rebounded off the post.

Four unanswered points followed before Clare scored again after thirteen minutes.

Cork finished the half strongly with a further three points to lead by six at half time when the score was 1-10 to 1-4.

Scorers; Cork; B.Hurley 1-4; C. O’Driscoll 0-3 D. Goulding, D.McEoin (0-2) each; M. Collins, I.Maguire, S.Hickey, P. Kerrigan (0-1) each;

Clare;-Eoin Cleary (1-2); Sean Collins, Shane McGrath, David Tubridy (0-2) each. Cathal O’ Connor (0-1)

Cork; Ken O’Halloran; Colm O’Driscoll, Eoin Cadogan, Kieran Histon; Brian O’Driscoll, James Loughrey, Tomas Clancy; Ian Maguire, Mark Collins; Kevin O’Driscoll, Paul Kerrigan, Ruairi Deane; Dan McEoin, Daniel Goulding, Brian Hurley

Subs; Andrew O’Sullivan for Deane (10 minutes) Luke Connolly for K O’Driscoll (44 minutes); Peter Kelleher for McEoin (49 minutes); Killian O’Hanlon for Maguire ((60 minutes) Seamus Hickey for Kerrigan (65 minutes); Bart Daly for Loughrey(68 minutes)

Clare; Joe Hayes(Lissycasey); Kevin Harnett (Meelick), Jack O’Dea (Kilfenora), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry-Ibrickane); Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare), Gordon Kelly (Miltown, St. Josephs), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora); Gary Brennan(Clondegad) Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen); Sean Collins (Cratloe) Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis, Dublin) Seanie Malone (Miltown St. Josephs); Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), Eoin Cleary (Miltown St. Josephs), David Tubridy (Doonbeg);

Subs; Sean Haugh (O’Currys) for O’Leary (inj. 5 minutes); Dean Ryan (Eire Og) for Harnett (half time); Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane) for Haugh (half time); Pierce De Loughrey (Cratloe) for Hayes(inj. 45 minutes); Graham Kelly (Miltown St. Josephs) for S.Malone (47 minutes)

Referee; Sean Lonergan,Tipperary

Hurling team to play Limerick

The Clare team to play Limerick in the final of the Munster senior hurling league final shows three changes in personnell from the side which beat Waterford last week.AndrewFahy, Pat O’Connor and David Fitzgerald come into the starting line up in place of Donal Tuohy, Jack Browne and Michael O’Malley. The team is

Andrew Fahy (Whitegate); Eoin O’Brien (Newmarket on Fergus), Pat O’Connor (Tubber), Paul Flanagan (Ballyea); Cian Dillon (Crusheen) captain, David McInerney (Tulla), Conor Cleary (Miltown,St. Josephs); Gearóid O’Connell (Ballyea), David Reidy (Éire Óg); Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin), Colin Ryan (Newmarket on Fergus), David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona); John Conlon (Clonlara), Darach Honan (Clonlara), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle);

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

HURLING: Limerick lay down early derby marker

Munster Hurling Cup Final Limerick 0-27 Clare 0-18 FIRST blood to Limerick following a commanding …