Ennistymon Credit Union
Home » Sports » Ryan’s goal ensures win for Rock Rovers

Ryan’s goal ensures win for Rock Rovers

David Considine of Rock Rovers falls under the tackle of Diarmuid Ahern. Photograph by Declan Monaghan

Rock Rovers 1
Bridge Celtic A 0

AFTER a scoreless first half, David Ryan got through for the all-important goal 15 minutes into the second half in this premier league tie on Sunday.

Rock Rovers: Eric Murphy; Greg Howard, Ronan Judge, Shane Daniels, Luke Coote, Daryl Eade, Rowan Eade, David Considine, Brian Fitzpatrick, Marty McLoughlin, David Ryan.
Subs: Ashley Glynn, Cathal O’Sullivan, Gavin Dinan.
Bridge Celtic A: Ruairi Ahern, Diarmuid Ahern, Rob Seymour, Willian Slattery, Stephen McCarthy Brian Barry, Ricky Mowatt, Shane Byrnes, Adrian Dhuig, Ger O’Connell, Jimmy Fyffe.
Sub: Peter Fitzmaurice for Barry.

Bunratty A 3
Newmarket Celtic A 4

IN this clash of neighbours in the premier league on Sunday, Newmarket Celtic were winners by the odd goal in seven over the title holders Bunratty A, a result that effectively ends Bunratty’s hopes of retaining the title.
Bunratty were two goals up after 15 minutes thanks to Daithi O’Connell and Declan McDonald.
Newmarket hit back with a goal from Dave O’Grady before Eoin Hayes had the leveller from the penalty spot after Andrew Murphy was penalised for handling the ball. Murphy was red-carded in this incident.
In the second half, Bunratty went back in front when Ryan Kelly scored but Newmarket equalised directly from a corner by Michael Crosby who punished a slip up by the Bunratty defence. Dave Ryan got the winner in injury time.

Bunratty A: Gary McGettrick, Shane Purcell, Seán McDonald, Andrew Murphy, Richard Lillis, Ally McMillan, Daithi O’Connell, Martin Russell, Pat Twomey, Declan McDonald, Ryan Kelly.
Sub: Trevor Twomey for D McDonald (inj).
Newmarket Celtic A: Trevor O’Donnell; Mark O’Malley, Liam Murphy, Michael Devitt, Darren Cullinan; Dave
O’Grady, Eoin O’Brien, Seamus Lawlor, Michael  Crosby Eoin Hayes, Kieran Devitt.
Subs: Dave Ryan for K Devitt (inj).

Bridge United A 0
Lifford 1

GARY McNaboe struck for the vital goal in the final minute of the match and the result means that Lifford’s chances of avoiding relegation are stronger. Overall, the Ennis side were better and deserved their win.

Bridge United A: Derek Fahy, Steve Stewart, Billy Maxwell, Alan Whyte, Adrian Whyte, Mark Culbert, Shane Devanney, Donald Devanney, Kieran Quinlan, Trevor Maxwell, Jason Whyte.
Subs: Alan McAuley, Jamie Gorman, Trevor Kearney.
Lifford: Colin Burke; Niall White, Hamad Kuku Darren O’Neill Dylan Blake, Gary McNaboe, T.J. Ajisomo, Ryan Boyle, Liam Keane, Lunga Balman, Liam Meaney.

Shannon Olympic A 5
Burren United 1

SHANNON Olympic scored a comprehensive win over Burren United in this league tie but it may not be enough to prevent them from making the drop to the first division. They were a goal in front at half-time thanks to a Ray Quigley strike a minute before the half-time whistle. They went on to dominate the second half when they had further goals from Jim Fitzgerald, John Keogh and a brace from Karl Scott.
Burren’s goal came in the last minute from Pat Nagle.

Shannon Olympic A: Kieran McCarthy, Wayne Regan, Ian Hogan, Noel Donlon, Paul O’Connor; Ray Quigley, Donnacda Kelly, Eamonn O’Neill, Jason Regan; Jim Fitzgerald, Joey O’Neill.
Subs: John Keogh for J Fitzgerald; Karl Scott for O’Neill; Liam Lagan for J Regan.
Burren Utd: Eric Cahilane; Kevin Danagher, Stephen Tierney, Seán Cormican; Danny Burke, Evan Talty, Pat Nagle, Marine Ghat, Donal Howley, Martin McDonagh, Stephen Moloney.
Sub: Karl Ryan for Talty.

About News Editor

Check Also

Clarecastle prevail over Townies in extra time thriller

Michael O’Connor was there to witness Clarecastle trump their neighbours Éire Óg in the U15A …