Home » Sports » Rochestown’s experience too much for St. Caimins

Rochestown’s experience too much for St. Caimins

Rochestown College, Cork 2  St.Caimins Shannon 1

St.Caimins Shannon will have to wait at least another year to realise their dream of winning a first Munster colleges soccer title.

At the astroturf pitch at Charleville sports complex this afternoon they had to give best to favourites, Rochestown College from Cork in the under 17 A decider.

The win completed a great double for the Cork school as, earlier i n the week, they captured the under 19 title.

Today’s win in the under 17 final was deserved as they were the better balanced side throughout. they had the better of the first half exchanges and deservingly took the lead thanks to a powerful Josh Hanrahan header after seventeen minutes.

This score separated the sides at the interval and, to be fair, the winners were a little unlucky not to have been further ahead as they had enjoyed the better of matters in the opening forty minutes.

Twelve minutes into the second half they doubled their lead and this time the scorer was Jaze Kavia who headed home from close range.

this score sparked a strong response from the Clare side and two minutes later they pulled a goal back when Kai Kheton found the net with a powerful effort for what was the best goal of the game.

From here to the finish they piled on the pressure and, five minutes from time, had a Jordan Downes goal disallowed for an offside infringement.

Rochestown played the final quarter with ten men after Kavia picked up a second yellow card.

In the end Rochestown were deserving winners but St.Camins have every reason to be proud of their achievement of getting to the final for the first time.

Rochestown;  Alan O’Keeffe; Patrick Buckley, Colm O’Mahoney, Conor Russell, Josh Hanrahan, Nathan O’Connell, Ross Slevin, Adam Hennessy, Evan Donlon, Rory Doyle, Jaze Kavia

St.Caimins; Shane Whyte; Tiernan Agnew, Darragh Lohan, Adam Fitzpatrick, Jason O’Neill; Calum McNamara, Jack Corry, Lee Devitt (captain), Jordan Downes, Kai Khetan, Filip Mostowi.

Subs;  Daniel Kilsulyak for Corry; Eoin Duff for Mostowi;

About News Editor


Check Also

St Joseph’s Doora Barefield To Host 2020 Ger Hoey Memorial Cup Showdown

THIS Friday evening, the late Ger Hoey will be honoured and remembered when Tullaroan, the …

error: Content is protected !!