Home » Sports » Rampant Kilmurry back on song

Rampant Kilmurry back on song


Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-17
Éire Óg 0-9

A WEEK after losing their opening Cusack Cup game to Miltown, Kilmurry stormed back to very near their rampant best in Quilty last Saturday evening.

Although Éire Óg were a big help to the Clare and Munster champions, allowing them plenty of time and space in which to play, Kilmurry ruthlessly tore through the Ennis men during the hour of football.
Such was the dynamism of their play, Kilmurry led 1-6 to 0-1 after just 20 minutes. Stephen Moloney’s 18th minute goal was a sublime chip over Eoin Slattery in the Éire Óg goalmouth, while Moloney himself, Noel Downes, Enda Coughlan and Johnny Daly had already kicked points.
Interestingly, Coughlan was placed at centre-forward by Gerard McCarthy, Martin Cahill and Michael Considine, who were on the sideline for the managerless county champions.
Eoin Glynn, who was Éire Óg’s best forward, kicked their first point, while Niall Daly and David Russell completed their three-point first half total as Kilmurry led 1-10 to 0-3 at the interval. 
Michael Hogan and Downes added Kilmurry’s remaining first half points, while earlier in the half, Johnny Daly had a goal disallowed.
Playing into the breeze, Kilmurry were never threatened during the second period as Downes, Shane Hickey, Hogan, Thomas Lernihan and Enda Coughlan completed their tally.
Éire Óg did display some fight and spirit in the second half and points from Glynn, 19-year-old Darren O’Neill, Russell and Daly accounted for their nine-point total.
Darren Hickey, Michael Hogan, Shane Hickey, Stephen Moloney and Noel Downes excelled for Kilmurry, while Eoin Glynn, Nicky Hogan and Darren O’Neill did well for the Ennis men. They were minus Clare senior panellist Dean Ryan who picked up an U-21 A hurling medal on Sunday.

Kilmurry Ibrickane: Peter O’Dwyer, Martin McMahon, Darren Hickey, John Willie Sexton; Shane Hickey, Brendan Moloney, Declan Callinan; Vinny Talty and Peter O’Dwyer; Michael Hogan, Enda Coughlan, Stephen Moloney; Colm Donnellan, Johnny Daly, Noel Downes.
Subs: Seamus Lynch for Colm Donnellan, Seamus Murrihy for Vinny Talty and Thomas Lernihan for Stephen Moloney.
Scorers: Noel Downes 0-6, Stephen Moloney 1-1, Michael Hogan 0-3 (0-1f), Enda Coughlan and Shane Hickey 0-2 each, Johnny Daly 0-2, (0-1f) and Thomas Lernihan 0-1.

Éire Óg: Eoin Slattery, Saran Butler, Donie Lyne, Conor Healy; Nicky Hogan, Michael O’Regan, Mark Kelly; Shane Daniels and Darren O’Neill; Seán O’Meara, David Russell, Brian Fitzpatrick; Eoin Glynn, Robert Forde, Niall Daly.
Sub used: Brian Shannon, Francie Keane and Robert Malone.
Scorers: Eoin Glynn 0-3, (0-1f), David Russell 0-3 (0-1f), Niall Daly 0-2; Darren O’Neill 0-1.

Referee: Michael Rock (Ennistymon).

Cooraclare 0-11
Doonbeg 0-7

SEVEN points from full-forward John Looney, from play and frees, inspired Cooraclare to a deserved win over their neighbours last Saturday evening.
The game was played in Kilmihil as the Doonbeg pitch has not yet reopened and they were due to have home advantage. The Magpies lined out without Conor Whelan and Padraig Gallagher, while Paul Hehir is preparing for this weekend’s London marathon.
The winners led 0-6 to 0-3 at half-time, while they then added to their total in the second half before Doonbeg began a comeback of sorts.
Inspired by Looney, Joe Considine and Colm Carroll however, Cooraclare picked up two valuable points, leaving them two points behind Doonbeg, who have six points out of eight on the table.

Doonbeg: Nigel Dillon, Richie Vaughan, Enda Doyle, Joe Blake, Jim Griffin, David Downes, Padraig Aherne; Frank O’Dea and Colm Dillon; Conor Downes, Kevin Nugent, Brian Egan, Jamie Whelan, David Tubridy, Shane Ryan.
Subs used: Philip Smith, Paul Dillon and Eoin Conway.
Cooraclare: Joe Killeen, Michael Chambers, Conor Marrinan, Colm Carroll, Gearóid Meade, Thomas Donnellan, Kieran Hassett; Joe Considine, Michael Kelly; John Francis Killeen, Seán Maguire, Hughie Donnelly, Cathal Lillis, John Looney, Declan McMahon.
Subs used: Mark Tubridy, Don Garry, Michael McMahon.

Kilkee 1-13
Clondegad 1-9

ALTHOUGH Clondegad hit Kilkee for an early 1-2 without reply, the home team fought their way back into the game and chiselled out a crucial four point win.
The result means that Kilkee have two points on the Cusack Cup table ahead of this weekends fifth round. Clondegad are however still in semi-final contention as they have two wins from four fixtures.
Podge McMahon scored Clondegad’s early goal, while Michael O’Shea netted for The Blues just before half-time.

Kilkee: Kevin Harte, Thomas Galvin, Brendan Smith, Christy Kirwan; Barry Coleman, Micheál Keane, Darren Owens; David Russell and Brian Clancy; Johnathon Hayes, Barry Harte, Chris Williamson; Gearóid Lynch, Conor King, Michael O’Shea.
Subs used: Ronan Browne.
Clondegad: Declan O’Loughlin, Brian Murphy, Paddy O’Connell, Flan Enright; Kieran Browne, Brian Carrig, John Griffin; Gary Brennan and Cormac Murphy; Eoin Griffin, Colm Gavin, James Murphy, Ken Kelly, Shane Brennan, Podge McMahon.
Subs used: Paddy Breen and Seán Clohessy.

Miltown 2-8
Liscannor 0-10

MILTOWN’S recent upward swing in form continued last Saturday when they scored a four-point win over Liscannor.
Michael Neylon’s team now have four points from four games, having lost both of their opening fixtures. Liscannor meanwhile have two points from four outings.
It looked as if Liscannor would pick up the points as they led by three points mid way through the second period.
The sending off of Ronan Slattery, following a clash with Micheál Malone, rattled Liscannor, who then conceded a goal when substitute Kevin Keavey hit the net. Joe Curtin added Miltown’s second goal to clinch the points.
Liscannor were without Dara Blake and Niall Considine both of whom have been out of action in recent weeks.

Miltown: Conor O’Loughlin, Enda Malone, Kevin Burke, David Cleary; Ian Sexton, Gordon Kelly, Graham Kelly; Seán Meade and Michael Barry; David Talty, Gary Egan, Micheál Malone; Niall Quinn, Eoin Curtin, Joe Curtin.
Subs used: Shane Curtin, John Meade, Kevin Keavey, Enda O’Gorman and Michael Talty.
Liscannor: Noel Kilmartin, Davie McDonagh, Shane Canavan, Michael Foley; Robert Lucas, Ronan Slattery, Thomas McDonagh; Brian Considine and Joe Considine; Alan Clohessy, Gerry Considine, Declan Fawl, Kieran Considine, Paul Guerin, Ger Considine.
Subs used: Davy Commane, Diarmuid Blake and Ian Burke.

About News Editor


Check Also

Ennis boxer has Madison Square Garden fight cancelled

ENNIS boxer Paddy Donovan has had his fight, which was scheduled for St Patrick’s Day …

error: Content is protected !!