Champion Chatter Podcast
Home » Regional » Gort » Prizes presented to show champions

Prizes presented to show champions

Champion Chatter Podcast

A PRESENTATION for trophy winners and section champions in the Gort Show, which was held in Sullivan’s Royal Hotel, Gort, attracted over 40 people from counties Clare and Galway, who were also there to see who had won the Gort Town Basket and Boxes Competition.
The winner of the best private house judged on the hanging baskets and window boxes was Vera and Seamus Killeen of Church Street, Gort. Donoghue’s house on George’s Street was second.
The best business was Hennelly’s Bar in George’s Street, with the Gallery Café coming a close second. According to the organisers, George’s Street deservedly scooped the top prize for best street.
Margaret Cummings of The Punchbowl was awarded a special surprise certificate for the best single hanging basket in the town of Gort.
The section champions from the Gort Show included Mary Mahon of Gurteenboy, Gort, who was section champion in both the home produce section and the handcrafts section.
“Mary won both these sections in 2009 also, which is a great achievement as there is a lot of high quality competition,” said organising secretary, Amanda Norton.
The garden produce champion, this year, was Raymond Higgins of Ballydangan, County Roscommon. Raymond was also second overall in the amateur photography section. John Moran of Gort was presented the Stephen Gallagher Cup for onions for market and Michael Walsh revceived the Seamus Moloney Trophy for organic vegetables.
The 2010 flower section winner was Jim Deen of Doorus East, Caher, with local woman Bridie Connolly coming second.
Gort resident Denise Cotter, who always woos the show crowds with her cake decorating, also came second this year overall in the home produce section.
The 2010 special handcrafts champion, for competitors over retirement age, was Kitty McGrath. Kitty also won this section in 2008 and 2009. Because of this, Kathleen Curley, who presents the Susan Curley Perpetual Trophy annually for this prize, decided that she would present the cup to Kitty to keep as a way of marking her achievement over many years. Kathleen will donate a new perpetual cup for next year’s show.
Aisling McMahon won the children’s section by a margin of over 50 points.
“This is an excellent achievement for a very talented girl. She entered lots of categories, including one where she made something new from something old. She made a handbag from a hot water bottle and earrings from the plastic rings on milk containers,” Amanda explained.
Aisling also won this section in 2009. Sean Óg Blackwell was second and Cliona Connolly was third.
The Kitty Fahy Cup was presented to Shona Scrivens, who was the young people’s section champion.
Sean McInerney of Scariff won the much-coveted Mary Flanagan Perpetual Cup for being the overall champion of the amateur photography section. He was also presented with the Nell and Padraic Giblin Cup for the best overall photograph.

About News Editor

Check Also

Smart partnership adds new dimension to Thoor Ballylee

THE Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society is looking to the future when it comes to bringing …