ESB Apprentice Moneypoint
Home » Breaking News » Parish girls are Clare Community Games camogie champs

Parish girls are Clare Community Games camogie champs

ESB Apprentice Moneypoint

The St Francis Credit Union Clare Community Games U-14 Camogie competition took place in ideal conditions last week in Kilmaley with Doora Barefield coming away with gold.

The competition was coordinated by Ann McMahon with referees Áine Ní Chormaic and David Cunningham. Six teams from Kilmaley to Killaloe participated in the competition with some very talented displays on offer with some matches very closely contested.

Moylussa (Killaloe/O’Brien’s Bridge) who were first time entrants in camogie came up against Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry in the quarter final with Moylussa winning 2-1 to 1-0.

In the other quarter final Doora/Barefield proved much too strong for the local Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly side winning 1-3 to 0-1.

In the semi-final Cratloe, who were also first timers to the competition got a walk over in the quarter final, met Killanena/Flagmount who had a bye in the first round. Cratloe proved to be the stronger coming out on top 3-2 to 1-1.

In the second semi final Doora/Barefield took on Moylussa and their experience won out by the narrowest of margins 2-1 to 1-1.

The 3rd and 4th play off was between near neighbours Killanena/Flagmount and Moylussa. Moylussa won the Bronze medals 8-2 to 4-0.

The final was between Cratloe and a much stronger and more experienced Doora/Barefield side who ran out winners on a 5-2 to 0-1 scoreline to win Gold.

The county chairperson Paula Byrne O’Connell presented the medals to the four teams. She praised the standard of Camogie on display from all the teams who participated.

She thanked their parents, coaches and all the teams for very sporting games. She also thanked Ann McMahon the co-ordinator, referees and Kilmaley GAA Club for their fantastic facilities.

As Clare Community Games does not have their own facilities, they are so thankful to Kilmaley who gave so generously of their facilities.

Doora/Barefield will now go forward to represent Clare in the Munster competition later in the year.


1. Doora/Barefield – Maeve Barry, Roisin Hogan, Fatima Ghazi, Aoife Murphy, Amy Conroy, Hayley Dixon, Hannah Kennedy, Aoife Sullivan, Lauren Shannon, Faye Mannion, Kate Howard, Niamh Mescall, Amy Reynolds, Ellen O’Connell, Leah O’Connell

2. Cratloe – Martha Cusack, Meia Carroll, Kate Coughlan, Ellen Flynn, Abbie O’Gorman, Lucy Lohan, Jessica Leahy, Lucy Browne, Alexa Keohe, Muireann Earley, Caragh Hayes, Bonnie Malloney, Emily Mc Mahon

3. Moylussa – Ruth Coll, Caoimhe Hayes, Mya Layden, Muireann Coleman, Aoife Tuohy, Grace Cusack, Caitlin Hayes, Rachel Needham, Emma Needham, Leah Scanlon, Caitlin Ni Donnda, Niamh Slattery, Tina O’Shea, Maria Kenrdy, Aoife Slattery.

4. Killanena/Flagmount – Ann Doyle, Ellie Rose Fitzpatrick, Olivia Horan, Kayla Loughrey, Aisling Mc Mahon, Maeve Mc Mahon, Ava Moroney, Ellen Moroney, Caoimhe Noone, Laura Noone, Aoibhhinn O’Mara, Aisling Sweeney, Eva Wynne.

The other two teams were
Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry – Ava Moloney, Eimear Peacock, Halle Keogh, Kate Monahan, Marley Seago O’Sullivan, Roisin Scanlon, Sarah Conlan, Teigen Judge, Aisling White, Sarah O’Grady, Blathnaid Deasy, Ceire Mc Namara, Eve O’Reilly, Kaitlyn Hughes, Moyra O’Grady, Shona Ryan.

Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly – Erin Courtney, Sarah Warren, Holly Hennessy, Aly Carmody, Caoimhe Neylon, Jenny Williams, Cait Clancy, Chloe Mc Ardle, Ciara Lohan, Arabelle Mc Gauley, Lily Doherty, Emma Warren, Rhea Moloney, Aoibhinn Barry, Sophie Wall, Moira Maher.

Check Also

SLIDESHOW: Parish double up on U15 football titles

St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield added the Under 15A Academy football final to their U15 Division 1 …