Home » Sports » Newmarket rock Rovers in premier battle

Newmarket rock Rovers in premier battle

Eric Murphy, Rock Rovers, takes on the Newmarket defence.  Photograph by Declan MonaghanRock Rovers  2

Newmarket Celtic  3

NEWMARKET Celtic strengthened their grip on the premier league with this hard-fought victory over another of the title contenders, Rock Rovers, at Lees Road on Sunday.
The winners were two goals ahead after half an hour, the first coming from Conor Ryan after 15 minutes and the second from Mark Donlon on the half hour. These scores separated the teams at half-time.
Fifteen minutes into the second half, Rock pulled one back when Daryl Eade converted a penalty. Shortly afterwards, Newmarket restored their two-goal advantage when Mike O’Malley scored. Rock piled on the pressure and a Shane Daniels header closed the gap.
Twenty minutes from the end, Rock were reduced to 10 men when Graham Glynn was sent off. They finished the game with nine men after Jason White had to retire due to injury at a time when they had used their complement of substitutes.

Rock Rovers: Stephen Loftus; Ciarán Russell, Ronan Judge, Shane Daniels, Eoin Glynn; Daryl Eade, Francis Daniels, Barry Woods, Dean Gardiner; Graham Glynn, Marty McLoughlin.
Subs: Jason White, David Ryan, Ashley Glynn.
Newmarket Celtic: Marty Whelan; Mark O’Malley, Eoin O’Brien, Mark Donnellan, Darren Cullinan; Mike O’Malley, Michael Devitt, Paudie Hayes, Conor Ryan; Martin O’Neill Gary Collins.
Subs: Seamus Considine for Collins; Michael Crosbie for Hayes.

Lifford  1

Bunratty A  1

BUNRATTY A took the lead in this premier league tie 25 minutes into the game at Cassidy Park when Brendan Hughes headed to the net following a corner.
Lifford snatched a share of the spoils when they hit the equaliser in injury time through Gary McNaboe.

Jan Da Silva; Joe Lynch, Hamad Kuku, Michael Joe Sullivan, Dylan Blake; Gary Browne, Gary McNaboe, TJ Ajisomo, Pat Nagle, Ryan Boyle, Lunga Balman.
Ruairi Norrby; Ciarán Neenan.
Bunratty A: Fintan Quinn; Shane Purcell, Seán McDonald, Gearóid O’Connell, Brendan Hughes, Evan Glynn, Jamie Cullen, Daithi O’Connell, Diarmuid Nash, Shane O’Connor, Ryan Kelly.
Subs: Christy Griffin for Diarmuid Nash.

Hermitage A  0

Rineanna Rovers A  1

RINEANNA Rovers A caused an upset on Sunday when they defeated Hermitage A. The all-important goal came with 20 minutes to go and was scored by Stephen Kelly on a day when his side created the greater number of chances. Hermitage goalie Joe Burke saved his side from a heavier defeat with some outstanding saves.

Hermitage A:
Joe Burke; Eoin Kane, John Maher, PJ Harnett, Rhys Phillips; Bobby Dunne, Seánie McGee, Paul Dullaghan, Ger Dullaghan; Ritchie Fitzgerald, Eddie Killeen.
Subs: Davy Moloney; Pa Mannion, Eoin O’Meara-Daly.
Rineanna Rovers A: Jason Casey; Neil Mills, Pat Fahy, Dean Richter, Enda Kelly; Stephen Kelly, Johnnie Okoru, Kieran Keane, Niall Murphy, Brian Kelly, Seán O’Connor.
Subs: John Earls.

Tulla United A  4

Bridge Celtic A  1

TULLA United A continued their climb up the premier league ladder with a comprehensive win over East Clare neighbours, Bridge Celtic A.
They got off to an excellent start with an Alan Brigdale goal in the second minute. He ran on to a Trevor Corbett corner and headed to the net.
A goal-line clearance from Denis Murphy denied Celtic an equaliser shortly after this before Murphy doubled his side’s lead when he converted a penalty after half an hour. This left the score at 2-0, which was the position at half-time.
Five minutes into the second half, Shane Mason extended the Tulla lead with their third before Celtic got through for their goal which came from Trevor Howard. Tulla had the final say when Brigdale struck again with another header, again following a corner which, this time, was taken by Brian Hehir.
Colin Nelson was the winner’s star in this outing and he caused numerous problems for the Celtic defence throughout.

Tulla United A: Paul Whelan; John Brigdale, Gearóid O’Doherty, Denis Murphy, Niall Whelan; Brian Hehir, Shane Mason, Dara Corry, Trevor Corbett, Alan Brigdale, Colin Nelson.
Subs: Padraic O’Malley for J Brigdale; Tommy McKeown for Hehir; Paudge Vaughan for Corry.
Bridge Celtic A: Adrian Dhouig; Trevor Howard, William Slattery, Ryan Morris, Stephen McCarthy; Cathal O’Connell, Ciaran Aherne, Ger O’Connell, Rob Cassidy; Conor Hynes, Noel Howard.
Subs: Barry O’Connell, Paul McEvoy.

About News Editor

Check Also

Glorious double for Spanish Point

Munster Senior D Post-Primary Schools Football Championship Round 2 St Joseph’s Spanish Point 2-7 St …

error: Content is protected !!