Home » Sports » New chairman and treasurer for Crusheen

New chairman and treasurer for Crusheen

Crusheen GAA held their AGM last Saturday and there was a good attendance of players and supporters.

Both the chairman John O’Malley and secretary Tony McMahon gave detailed reports of the year’s proceedings at club and county levels. Both reports highlighted the great success of the U-21 Clare team, which won both the Munster and All-Ireland titles for the first time. The club was honoured and proud to be not only represented on the panel by four of their players but to have one of those players, Ciaran O’Doherty, as captain. Gerry O’Grady captained Clare senior hurlers in the early part of the year when they won the Waterford Crystal Trophy and Parick Vaughan and Cathal Dillon were also part of that panel.
Seamus O’Sullivan outlined the club’s finances, which, thanks to the supporters’ 200 Club and the sponsorship of Pat O’Donnell, allowed the everyday running of the club to be in credit. However, as was outlined last year, the club is in debt due to the drainage project undertaken in 2008 and both the chairman and treasurer acknowledged the enormous effort that the new fundraising committee, established at last year’s AGM,has putting in to help pay off this debt.
Managers of all teams reported on their competitions. Gearóid O Donnell said that Crusheen played in their first U-21A final in 40 years and felt that they should have won the competition.
Gerry Kennedy, senior manager, said though it was very disappointing not to have reached the latter stages of the championship, he was proud of the team. Crusheen won the senior B championship and though it was not what the team set out to do, it was good to be finishing the year on a winning note. Gerry informed the meeting that he would be unable to continue as manager for 2010 but Michael Browne, who was trainer last year, has taken over the position.
Junior football’s Colm O’Connor reported on a very successful year, winning the league final and reaching the quarter-final of the championship.
Before the election of officers tributes were paid to the outgoing chairman and secretary, John O’Malley and Seamus O’Sullivan respectively, who did not seek re-election.
The following officers were elected for 2010. President, Tom McNamara; chairman, Colm O’Connor; vice-chariman, Fr Ger Nash; secretary, Tony McMahon; assistant secretary, Joanne Meaney; treasurer, Orla O’Donnell; child protection officer, John Madden; PRO, Catherine Brigdale; county board delegate, Tony O’Donnell.

Inagh-Kilnamona hurling club held their AGM in Kilnamona last Sunday with a large attendance.
Chairman Brian Fitzgerald commented on the positives from last year and how the club must now turn its attention to improving the facilities for the club, stating that the development of the field in Inagh must be a priority for the coming year to ensure that the club has a playing field for all weather conditions.
He noted that the club lost its president, Fr Kevin Hogan, who died early in the year.
The chairman also stated that it was becoming more difficult to raise finance and to get more people involved in the running of the club and he asked everyone to do what they could to ensure the future success of the club.
The following officers were elected. President, Nora Rynne; chairman, Brian Fitzgerald; vice-chairman, Fergal Hegarty; secretary, Paddy McGuane; assistant secretary, Paul McInerney; treasurer, Tommy Keating; PRO, David Foudy; registrar, Michael Hehir; county board delegate, Paul Gannon; Bord na nÓg delegate, Michael Hehir; children’s officers, Flan Barry, Enda McGuane; coaching officers, Flan Barry, Enda McGuane and Tomás Kelly

St Joseph’s, Doora Barefield
St Joseph’s, Doora Barefield will hold their AGM in the Auburn Lodge Hotel on Friday, December 18 at 8pm. All motions and nominations must be with the secretary Dan O’Connor by this Friday.
The AGM of Lissycasey GAA club has been switched to this Sunday at 3pm in the clubrooms.
Originally scheduled for this Saturday, the executive opted for a switch to Sunday to facilitate some members who are unable to attend on Saturday.
The meeting will review a year in which the club won the minor A championship title for the first time.

O’Callaghan’s Mills

The GAA hall in Kilkishen will be the venue for the AGM of the O’Callaghan’s Mills club this Friday, when proceedings will start at 7.30pm.
The annual meeting of the O’Callaghan’s Mills minor club will take place next Tuesday at the GAA hall at 8pm.

The AGM of Killanena GAA club takes place this Saturday at 8pm in the Lough Graney Kids Corner in Flagmount.


Tones award for Greg Keane
The Wolfe Tones GAA club held its senior and minor club annual general meetings in the past week.
At the senior club meeting, Greg Keane was presented with the club person of the year award.
The meeting was well attended and elected the following officers: president, Joe Dawson; chairperson, Damien Regan, vice-chairperson, John O’Toole; secretary, Maura McMahon; assistant secretary, Amanda Hogan; treasurer, Helena Ryan; assistant treasurer, John O’Toole; registrar, Darren O’Connell; PRO, Amanda Hogan; outdoors facilities officer, Pat O’Connell; indoor facilities officer, Tony Mulcahy; groundsman, Mick Kelly; first aid officer, Kathy Hogan; county board reps, Joe Kelly and John Morris; players’ representative, Brendan Hughes; team equipment officer, John Cregan; club merchandise shop, Amanda Hogan.
Wolfe Tones na Sionna also held the annual meeting of the minor club last week when the following were elected: chairperson, Joe Kelly; secretary, Brenda Leahy; childrens’ officer, Kathy Hogan; assistant secretary, Amanda Hogan; juvenile registrar, Paul Hogan/Eoin Horgan; Bord na nÓg Iomaint delegate, Tony Flanagan; Bord na nÓg Peil delegate, Mike Riordan.

New chairman in Kilmihil
A well-attended AGM of Kilmihil GAA Club was held last Sunday.
Paddy Quinlivan retired from the position of field manager after nine years. Pat Quinlivan stepped down as club chairman with Dominic Curtin the new club chairman, while Mick Darby, Dave Loughman and Tony Lyons will head up the senior football management team in 2010.
The following officers were elected, president, Paddy Quinlivan; vice-president, Tom Downes; patron, Fr Peter O’Loughlin; chairman, Dominic Curtin; vice chairman, Pat Quinlivan; secretary, Mairéad Considine; assistant secretary, Andrew Johnston; treasurer, Kevin Callinan; PRO, Gerard O’Neill and James Pilkington; Irish officer, Carmel Coughlan; children’s officer, Andrew Johnston and John Kelly; county board delegate, Gerard O’Neill; West Clare board delegate, John Dalton; hurling board delegate, Frank Finucane; finance committee chairman, Gerard Johnston; field committee chairman, Senan Callinan; website administrator/manager, Gerard O’Neill; senior team manager, Mick Darby; coach, Dave Loughman; selectors, Tony Lyons and two others to be appointed.

About News Editor


Check Also

Clare SHC Quarter Final Previews: Cratloe v Clonlara

Clare Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final Preview: Cratloe v Clonlara This is one that the potential …

error: Content is protected !!