Home » Sports » Munster club of the year award for Ballyea
Stan Lineen captained Ballyea to their first ever Clare senior hurling title Photograph by John Kelly.

Munster club of the year award for Ballyea

First time Clare senior hurling champions Ballyea who went on to win their first Munster title three weeks later, will be presented with the Munster GAA club of the year award at the provincial council’s annual awards function which takes place at the Rochestown Park hotel in Cork on this Saturday night

This will be one of three awards presented to Clare on the night, the others going to Michael McNamara from O’Callaghans Mills for distinguished service to Scor in the province and David Conroy from St. Josephs Doora-Barefield who will receive the Munster intermediate hurler of the year accolade.

This end of year function is one of the highlights of the Provincial council’s season and will be attended by officials from all counties in the Province.

Ballyea’s selection as club of the year is fully merited and comes on the back of an historic season for the club when they won the Clare senior title for the very first time. They went on to beat hot favourites, Thurles Sarsfields from Tipperary in the Provincial semi-final and then overcame Glen Rovers from Cork in the final. They are currently preparing for their February 4 All-Ireland semi-final clash with Galway champions, St. Thomas’.

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

United we stand in Shannon Town’s new €300k clubhouse

FIFTY-THREE years after its foundation, Shannon Town United officially opened its new clubhouse last weekend. …