Home » Sports » Models of success at art finals

Models of success at art finals

The Clare Community Games county finals in art and model making were held at the CBS, Ennis on Saturday last and attracted a very big entry of over 400 competitors, from 23 areas.

Shane Heenan Quinn admires his handywork. Photograph by Declan MonaghanIn the case of the art competition, the competitors had three hours, under supervision, to paint, draw, sketch or collage any Community Games activity. In the case of the model making, competitors had to create, within three hours, a model out of any material with Community Games theme.
The adjudication in both cases was based on observation of events, creativity and originality and natural ability. A number of special category competitors took part in the final this year.
The following, who represented Clare at the national finals last year, were winners again in their respective age categories. In art, Paraic O’Gorman, Kilmihil won the U-14 category while in model making David Hamilton, Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry, qualified in the U-12 category.
The judges were Clodagh Kelly and Louise Houlihan. The county co-ordinator, Cecilia O’Sullivan, congratulated all the competitors for their efforts and participation and wished the winners every success at the National finals in Athlone in May. She acknowledged the judges, supervisors, area secretaries and teachers who promoted it locally, as well as Brother De Róiste, principal of Ennis CBS, for the use of the school.
The prizes will be presented to the area secretaries and delegates at the next county meeting at the West County Hotel, Ennis, on Tuesday, March 1, at 9pm.

Next up
This weekend, the table tennis county finals will take place on Friday evening at St Anne’s school in Ennis.
On the same evening, the county choir final will take place at Sixmilebridge GAA hall starting at 7.30pm.
The handball competitions will take place next week, beginning on Monday evening, at a number of venues across the county St Flannan’s College will be the venue on Sunday, March 6 for the chess finals and the Ennis college will also host the basketball U-11 finals on Saturday, February 26. The draughts finals will take place in Tulla on Sunday, February 27.
Sixmilebridge National school will host the projects finals on Wednesday, March 2 while Sixmilebridge GAA hall will host the talent finals on Saturday, March 5 and the culture corner on Friday, March 11.
Kilnaboy is the venue for the U-13 cross country and the U-10 relays on Saturday, March 12. The U-13 and U-16 basketball competitions will be held in St Flannan’s on Saturday and Sunday, March 19 and 20.


U-8: 1. Aoife Keenan, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 2. Grace Kelly, Cooraclare-Cree; 3. Sarah Brehany, Ennis St John’s; 4. (Joint) Karen O’Sullivan, Quin-Clooney/Aishling McHugh, Quin-Clooney
U-10: 1. Isobel O’Donnell, Shannon; 2. Charlotte Gaule, Cratloe; 3. Megan Downes-Rigney, Kilmihil; 4. (Joint) Caoimhe McAteer, Quin-Clooney/Kerrie Conway, Shannon
U-12: 1. Caoimhe Roughan, Ruan; 2. Meabh Bannon, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 3. Ella Chambers, Doora/Barefield; 4. (Joint) Tara O’Grady, Crusheen/Ballinruan/Clara De-Sousa, Quin-Clooney
U-14: 1. Grace McMahon, Quin-Clooney; 2. Karen Gallagher, Cratloe; 3. Jennifer Power, Shannon; 4. (Joint) Mia Hanrahan, Doora/Barefield/Alice Barnes, Shannon
U-16: 1. Natasha Coughlan, Quin-Clooney; 2. Rebecca Devine, Doora/Barefield
U-8: 1. Paul Sheehan, Ballynacally-Lissycasey; 2. Eamon Hamel, Inch-Connolly-Kilmaley; 3. Noel McConway, Quin-Clooney; 4. (Joint) Darragh Stack, Ennis St John’s/Ian McNamara, Flagmount/Killanena
U-10: 1. Mark Hanrahan, Doora/Barefield; 2. Donal Pradeep, Shannon; 3. Darren Pardeep, Shannon; 4. (Joint) Jack Cashell, Ennis St John’s/Noel O’Gorman, Kilmihil
U-12: 1. Evan O’Sullivan, Shannon; 2. Aiden Sheehan, Ballynacally-Lissycasey; 3. Ian Kerin, Kilnamona; 4. Liam Stackpole, Ennis St John’s
U-14: 1. Paraic O’Gorman, Kilmihil; 2. James Chaplin, Cratloe; 3. Michael McNamara, Kilmihil; 4. Stephen Kelleher, Clarecastle-Ballyea
U-16: 1. David Donnellan, Cooraclare-Cree; 2. Frankie Martyn, Cooraclare-Cree
U-12: 1. Paul Lyons, Kilnamona
U-14: 1. Eoghan Downey, Kilnamona
U-10: 1. Ella Keilthy, Cratloe; 2. Alexandra Ellison, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 3. Lauren Whelan, Newmakret-on-Fergus; 4. (Joint) Moya Kelly, Newmarket-on-Fergus/Alex O’Sullivan, Tulla
U-12: 1. Holly Dunlea, Shannon; 2. Arshia Dhiman, Shannon; 3. Laura Chaplin, Cratloe; 4. Fiona Quinn, Newmarket-on-Fergus
U-14: 1. Lauren McConway, Quin-Clooney; 2. Andrea O’Keeffe, Kilnamona; 3. Amy Walsh, Shannon; 4. Jennifer Keane, Shannon
U-10: 1. Paul Hamilton, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 2. Michael Mundy, Cratloe; 3. Mark Delaney, Newmarket-on-Fergus; 4. (Joint) Cian Gleeson, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry/Shane Quinn, Newmarket-on-Fergus
U-12: 1. David Hamilton, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 2. Alex McConway, Quin-Clooney; 3. Luke O’Leary, Shannon; 4. (Joint) Patrick Molloy, Newmarket-on-Fergus/Cian McInerney, Kilnamona
U-14: 1. Tadhg Donnellan, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry; 2. Cormac Kelly, Newmarket-on-Fergus; 3. (Joint) Dylan O’Doherty, Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry/Dylan Cummins, Ennis St John’s; 4. David Ryall, Shannon.

About News Editor

Check Also

Glorious double for Spanish Point

Munster Senior D Post-Primary Schools Football Championship Round 2 St Joseph’s Spanish Point 2-7 St …

error: Content is protected !!