Home » Sports » Magnificent Smyth inspires Feakle-Killanena to u-14 title

Magnificent Smyth inspires Feakle-Killanena to u-14 title

Feakle-Killanena 2-14 Sixmilebridge 3-5

Keith Smyth excelled as Feakle-Killanena captured the under 14 A hurling title for the first time when they defeated Sixmilebridge at Gurteen

Smyth was the stand out player in a final which produced some excellent hurling and some outstanding individual performances

The winners full forward finished the tie with a tally of 2-12 to his credit and this would surely have been greater were it not for the heroics of Sixmilebridge goalkeeper Cian Fawl who was another to excel in Friday evening’s final

National feile division 1 finalists Sixmilebridge led by two points at half time when the score was 1-3 to 0-4, the first half goal having come from Dara Casey. They strengthened their position at the start of the second half when David Kennedy’s effort from 30m went all the way to the Feakle-Killanena net. Points were exchanged twice in the next few minutes before Smyth and Feakle-Killanena took control of the tie. In the final twenty minutes they scored 2-7 while conceding just one score, a goal to substitute Dylan Dunne with just over ten minutes to play.

While this brought the margin back to three points, Feakle-Killanena held the upperhand and they added three points without reply in the remaining time to claim the title for the first time.

Feakle-Killanena; Seamus O’Donnell; Ryan Keane, Adan Hogan, Rory McNamara; Eoghan Daly, Ian McNamara, Jack O’Donnell; Oisin Clune, Oisin O’Connor; Christopher Maloney, Ronan O’Connor (0-1), James Greene (0-1); Ronan Keane, Keith Smyth (2-12, 0-6 frees), Niall Callaghan.

Sub; Patrick Daly for Callaghan

Sixmilebridge; Cian Fawl; Michael Carey, Evan O’Callaghan, Morgan O’Connell; Scott Kirkland, Colin Kelly,Adam Murray; David Kennedy (1-1), Evan Murphy (0-1); Oisin Breen, Seamus O’Connell, Colm Flynn (0-1); Dara Casey (1-1), Luke O’Halloran, Noel Flynn (0-1).

Subs; James Egan for O’Halloran; Dylan Dunne (1-0) for Breen; Ian Collins for Murray; Oran Carey for M. Carey; Coby McDonald for D. Casey

Referee; Jarlath Donnellan, Wolfe Tones

By Seamus Hayes

About News Editor


Check Also

Champion Sports Chat Podcast Tuesday August 20 2019

On this week’s podcast: Derrick Lynch, Peter O’Connell and Fergie O’Loughlin break down the big …

error: Content is protected !!