Home » Breaking News » John Crowe elected chair of Shannon MD

John Crowe elected chair of Shannon MD

SIXMILEBRIDGE’S John Crowe has been elected Cathaoirleach of the Shannon Municipal District.

He was elected at the AGM of the MD this afternoon, while Michael Begley was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Crowe succeeds Councillor Pat McMahon, who reflecting on his year as Chair, said he would have liked to represent the area “in happier times”.

He also spoke about the importance of supporting a struggling Shannon Airport. The Newmarket man said that Shannon has not received the support in terms of policy it needed over the years, while he noted that it hasn’t had a chairperson for months now. “It wouldn’t happen to Dublin” he commented.

After taking the chain of office, Councillor Crowe praised his predecessor, saying he was glad to take over from someone he described as “a great man and a character.”

About Owen Ryan

Owen Ryan has been a journalist with the Clare Champion since 2007, having previously worked for a number of other regional titles in Limerick, Galway and Cork.
error: Content is protected !!