Home » Sports » Inagh-Kilnamona retain Clare senior camogie crown
Fiona Lafferty helped Inagh-Kilnamona retain the Clare senior camogie title. Photograph by John Kelly.

Inagh-Kilnamona retain Clare senior camogie crown

Inagh-Kilnamona 2-8 Newmarket 1-10

In the lead up to this afternoon’s Clare senior camogie final views were divided as to who would capture the McMahon cup but all were in agreement that there would be little between the sides when the final whistle sounded.

And so it proved as Inagh-Kilnamona held on to the title they won for the first time last year when they scored a one point win over their predecessors as Clare senior champions.

Helped by a fortunate goal two minutes before the half time whistle, the title holders took a two point lead to the break with the score at 1-4 to 0-5. Having played with the aid of the breeze in the first half, a two point advantage didn’t look enough.

Eleven minutes into the second half Newmarket had drawn level but within a minute of Aine O’Brien firing over the equalising point, the title holders struck for their second goal, Sinead O’Loughlin finding the net

A brace of points from freetaker Amy Keating followed and the winners led by five minutes inside the final ten minutes. It was end to end stuff at this stage with the respective defences doing well while under a lot of pressure.

Points were traded and Inagh-Kilnamona still led by five with as many minutes remaining. An Aine O’Brien point closed the gap to four before Rachel Kelleher struck for Newmarket’s goal in the final minute of normal time and just as two minutes of ‘injury time’ were being signalled.

The ‘Blues piled on the pressure but the winner’s defence in which full back and captain Siobhan Lafferty dominated, held firm and Inagh-Kilnamona were on the attack when referee Fintan McNamara sounded the final whistle.

The Lafferty sisters, Clare Hehir, Andrea O’Keeffe, Aoife Keane who was named as the player of the game and Amy Keating were prominent throughout for the winners while Carol O’Leary, Aine O’Brien, Michelle McMahon, Nikki Kaiser, and Roisin McMahon did a lot of good work for Newmarket.

***After the game Clare camogie chairperson Joe Robbins presented the McMahon cup to the winning captain Siobhan Lafferty while Munster PRO Brid McNamara presented the player of the game award to Aoife Keane

Inagh-Kilnamona; Rebecca Keating; Jane Fitzgerald, Siobhan Lafferty, Michelle Mescall; Teresa O’Keeffe, Clare Hehir, Laoise Ryan; Aoife Keane, Andrea O’Keeffe; Sinead Quinn, Sinead O’Loughlin (1-1), Marie O’Halloran (0-2); Sinead Power, Amy Keating ((0-4), Fiona Lafferty (1-1),

Subs; Clare Commane for S. Quinn (54 minutes)

Newmarket; Ciara McCarthy; Katie O’Flanagan Carol O’Leary, Aoife Griffin; Aimee McInerney, Roisin McMahon, Joanne Walsh; Nikki Kaiser, Aine O’Brien(0-5); Michelle McMahon (0-3), Laura McMahon, Rachel Kelleher (1-2); Jenny Kelly, Zoe McInerney, Anne Marie Hayes.

Subs; Sharon McMahon for Zoe McInerney; Aileen Kilmartin for Anne Marie Hayes

Referee; Fintan McNamara,Killanena

In the curtain raiser, the Glenomra shield final, Sixmilebridge and Clooney-Quin played a draw. The final score was 2-9 for Sixmilebridge to 1-12

By Seamus Hayes

About News Editor

Check Also

All to play for entering final round of Clare U-15 PPS Championship

A winners-takes-all showdown for a place in the inaugural Clare U-15A Post-Primary Schools Championship Final …

error: Content is protected !!