Home » Sports » Hurling teams named to face Cork
Shane O'Donnell has recovered from injury and will play against Cork

Hurling teams named to face Cork

Despite intense speculation that Cian Dillon, Jason McCarthy and Jamie Shanahan would be named in the Clare senior hurling team to play Cork in the opening round of the Munster senior championship at Pairc Ui Caoimh on Sunday, neither have been included.

All three had started in the team’s most recent challenge game—against Wexford—last week when David McInerney was at full back with Conor Cleary at centre back, the positions they also filled over a week earlier when Clare played Offaly at Cusack Park.

While the management team headed by Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have now named Cleary at full back with McInerney in the centre, it won’t be a surprise if they switch positions before the throw in.

The team named for duty is Donal Tuohy (Crusheen); Patrick O’Connor (Tubber) – CAPTAIN, Conor Cleary (Miltown, St Josephs), Jack Browne (Ballyea); David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), David McInerney (Tulla), Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge); Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Tony Kelly (Ballyea);Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), John Conlon (Clonlara), David Reidy (Éire Óg), Conor McGrath (Cratloe), Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin),Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)

SubsS=:Andrew Fahy (Whitegate), Cian Dillon (Crusheen),Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona), Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge), Mikey O’Malley (Kilmaley), Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin), Niall Deasy (Ballyea), Ian Galvin (Clonlara), Mikey O’Neill (Kilmaley), Podge Collins (Cratloe), Daragh Corry (Tulla)

Meanwhile, the clare team to face Cork in the minor championship on Sunday was also named this evening ans it is; Cillian O’Brien( Clonlara); Jack Enright (Newmarket), Adam Mungovan(Doora-Barefield), Mike Gough (Smith O’Briens); Tony Butler (Doora-Barefield), Dylan McMahon (Clonlara), Darragh Healy (Clarecastle) Captain); Jason Griffin (Inagh-Kilnamona), Fionn Slattery (Bodyke); Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara) , Gearoid O’Grady (Kilmaley),William Halpin (Tulla); Mark Rodgers (Scariff), Keelan Guyler (Inagh-Kilnamona),Shane Meehan (Banner);

Subs; Shane White (Sixmilebridge); Conor Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona), Jack Minogue (Bodyke), Conor Carigg (WolfeTones) Tadhg Dean (Crusheen), Robin Mounsey (Ruan), Josh Brack (Clarecastle), Cian Galvin (Clarecastle), Ashley Brohan (Ruan)

By Seamus Hayes

About News Editor


Check Also

Kilmihil Ready For Challenge Of Defending Clare LGFA Crown

Derrick Lynch The 2020 Clare Ladies football championships get underway on Monday evening with games …