Home » Sports » Goals clinch opening league win for Clare

Goals clinch opening league win for Clare

Clare 3-9 Waterford 1-10

TWO second half goals, put away by substitute Michael O’Shea and centre-forward Shane McGrath, helped Clare to an excellent opening win in the 2014 division 4 NFL.

Playing into a stiff breeze in Dungarvan, Clare led 1-5 to 0-6 at half time. Kilmihil’s Martin O’Leary, making his senior inter-county debut, scored the first half goal for the winners, while Gary Brennan and Cathal O’Connor dominated the Waterford kick out.

Full forward David Tubridy pointed twice from play while McGrath and Shane Brennan put over a point each in the opening half.

Waterford upped their game considerably in the opening minutes of the second half but the introductions of O’Shea and hurling All-Star Podge Collins helped to settle Clare.

In fact it was Collins who kicked Clare’s opening point of the second half, a superb left footed effort.

From that moment on Clare regained control with the goals securing the points. Waterford’s goal, scored by Paul Whyte, was the games last kick.

Clare play Leitrim in Cusack Park on Sunday at 2pm in round two of the NFL. Leitrim scored an impressive opening win at home to Antrim on Sunday.

Clare: Pierce Deloughrey (Cratloe); Stephen Collins (Doora-Barefield), Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Óige Murphy (Cratloe), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Gary Brennan (Clondegad), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen); Shane Brennan (Clondegad), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Seán Collins (Cratloe); Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Jamie Malone (Corofin).

Subs: Michael O’Shea (Kilkee) for Jamie Malone, Podge Collins (Cratloe) for Shane Brennan), Gordon Kelly (Miltown) for Stephen Collins, Podge McMahon (Clondegad) for David Tubridy, Keith O’Connor (Kildysart) for Shane Hickey, John Keane (Corofin) for Seán Collins.

Scorers: David Tubridy (0-6, 0-3f), Shane McGrath (1-1), Martin O’Leary (1-1, 0-1f), Michael O’Shea (1-0), Shane Brennan, Podge Collins (0-1 each).

Waterford: Tomás Wall; Dean Crowley, Thomas O’Gorman, Kieran Connery; Cillian O’Keeffe, Shane Briggs (captain), Conor Phelan; Tommy Prendergast, Shane Aherne; Tony Grey, Brian Wall, Declan Allen; Wayne Hutchinson, Paul Whyte, Liam O’Lonáin.

Subs: JJ Hutchinson for Wayne Hutchinson, Oran Keevers for Tommy Prendergast, Tadhg O’hÚallacháin for Conor Phelan, Tommy Connors for Declan Allen, John Hayden for Shane Briggs.

Scorers: Paul Whyte (1-5, 0-3f), Tony Grey (0-2), Shane Briggs, Declan Allen (0-1 each).

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

About Peter O'Connell

West Clare native Peter O'Connell worked for The Clare Champion for 12 years and covered everything from sport, especially GAA, news, features and had been even known to branch into the fashion scene on occasion.

Check Also

Semi-final spots up for grabs in race for Canon Hamilton

Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals Newmarket-on-Fergus v Wolfe Tones @ Cusack Park, Saturday 1.30pm A golden …